LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
To: linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>,
	Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>, Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>,
	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@chromium.org>,
	Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas@ndufresne.ca>,
	Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@collabora.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>
Subject: [PATCH v5 2/4] media: pixfmt: Add HEVC slice pixel format
Date: Fri, 24 May 2019 11:36:33 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190524093635.1832-3-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190524093635.1832-1-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>

Introduce the V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC_SLICE pixel format, which currently
describes an output buffer with enough appended slice data for
producing one decoded frame with a stateless video decoder.

This will need to be reworked (along with the controls and the core) to
allow passing slice data individually, as it is the natural decoding
unit in HEVC.

We also need to figure out the description of the possible source data:
* Compressed slice data only, with slice controls attached;
* Slice data in Annex-B format (with raw slice header), without slice
  controls attached;
* Slice data in Annex-B format (with raw slice header), with slice
  controls attached.

Signed-off-by: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
---
 include/media/hevc-ctrls.h | 3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/media/hevc-ctrls.h b/include/media/hevc-ctrls.h
index 9ea013c88afc..2de83d9f6d47 100644
--- a/include/media/hevc-ctrls.h
+++ b/include/media/hevc-ctrls.h
@@ -11,6 +11,9 @@
 #ifndef _HEVC_CTRLS_H_
 #define _HEVC_CTRLS_H_
 
+/* The pixel format isn't stable at the moment and will likely be renamed. */
+#define V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC_SLICE v4l2_fourcc('S', '2', '6', '5') /* HEVC parsed slices */
+
 #define V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SPS		(V4L2_CID_MPEG_BASE + 1008)
 #define V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_PPS		(V4L2_CID_MPEG_BASE + 1009)
 #define V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SLICE_PARAMS	(V4L2_CID_MPEG_BASE + 1010)
-- 
2.21.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2019-05-24  9:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-24  9:36 [PATCH v5 0/4] HEVC/H.265 stateless support for V4L2 and Cedrus Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 1/4] media: v4l: Add definitions for the HEVC slice controls Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:08   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-25 12:46     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:43   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-24  9:36 ` Paul Kocialkowski [this message]
2019-05-25 12:51   ` [PATCH v5 2/4] media: pixfmt: Add HEVC slice pixel format Jernej Škrabec
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the " Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:36   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 4/4] media: cedrus: Add HEVC/H.265 decoding support Paul Kocialkowski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190524093635.1832-3-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --to=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=acourbot@chromium.org \
    --cc=boris.brezillon@collabora.com \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas@ndufresne.ca \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 2/4] media: pixfmt: Add HEVC slice pixel format' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).