LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
To: linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime.ripard@bootlin.com>,
	Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>, Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@xs4all.nl>,
	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>,
	Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@chromium.org>,
	Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas@ndufresne.ca>,
	Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@collabora.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>
Subject: [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the HEVC slice pixel format
Date: Fri, 24 May 2019 11:36:34 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190524093635.1832-4-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190524093635.1832-1-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>

Document the current state of the HEVC slice pixel format.
The format will need to evolve in the future, which is why it is
not part of the public API.

Signed-off-by: Paul Kocialkowski <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>
---
 .../media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst      | 21 +++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 21 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
index 4b701fc7653e..9d4195723c3e 100644
--- a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
+++ b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/pixfmt-compressed.rst
@@ -143,6 +143,27 @@ Compressed Formats
       - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC``
       - 'HEVC'
       - HEVC/H.265 video elementary stream.
+    * .. _V4L2-PIX-FMT-HEVC-SLICE:
+
+      - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_HEVC_SLICE``
+      - 'S265'
+      - HEVC parsed slice data, as extracted from the HEVC bitstream.
+	This format is adapted for stateless video decoders that implement a
+	HEVC pipeline (using the :ref:`codec` and :ref:`media-request-api`).
+	Metadata associated with the frame to decode is required to be passed
+	through the following controls :
+        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SPS``
+        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_PPS``
+        * ``V4L2_CID_MPEG_VIDEO_HEVC_SLICE_PARAMS``
+	See the :ref:`associated Codec Control IDs <v4l2-mpeg-hevc>`.
+	Buffers associated with this pixel format must contain the appropriate
+	number of macroblocks to decode a full corresponding frame.
+
+	.. note::
+
+	   This format is not yet part of the public kernel API and it
+	   is expected to change.
+
     * .. _V4L2-PIX-FMT-FWHT:
 
       - ``V4L2_PIX_FMT_FWHT``
-- 
2.21.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2019-05-24  9:37 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-24  9:36 [PATCH v5 0/4] HEVC/H.265 stateless support for V4L2 and Cedrus Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 1/4] media: v4l: Add definitions for the HEVC slice controls Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:08   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-25 12:46     ` Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 11:43   ` Hans Verkuil
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 2/4] media: pixfmt: Add HEVC slice pixel format Paul Kocialkowski
2019-05-25 12:51   ` Jernej Škrabec
2019-05-24  9:36 ` Paul Kocialkowski [this message]
2019-05-25 11:36   ` [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the " Hans Verkuil
2019-05-24  9:36 ` [PATCH v5 4/4] media: cedrus: Add HEVC/H.265 decoding support Paul Kocialkowski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190524093635.1832-4-paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --to=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=acourbot@chromium.org \
    --cc=boris.brezillon@collabora.com \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hverkuil@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=maxime.ripard@bootlin.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas@ndufresne.ca \
    --cc=tfiga@chromium.org \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 3/4] media: pixfmt: Document the HEVC slice pixel format' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).