LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
To: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Atish Patra <atish.patra@wdc.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Andreas Schwab <schwab@suse.de>, Anup Patel <anup@brainfault.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>,
	Otto Sabart <ottosabart@seberm.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@sifive.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [RFT PATCH v5 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code.
Date: Fri, 24 May 2019 10:38:41 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190524093754.GA3432@fuggles.cambridge.arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190524085720.GA13121@e107155-lin>

On Fri, May 24, 2019 at 09:57:40AM +0100, Sudeep Holla wrote:
> On Fri, May 24, 2019 at 10:13:33AM +0200, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
> > On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 05:06:50PM -0700, Atish Patra wrote:
> > > Both RISC-V & ARM64 are using cpu-map device tree to describe
> > > their cpu topology. It's better to move the relevant code to
> > > a common place instead of duplicate code.
> > > 
> > > Signed-off-by: Atish Patra <atish.patra@wdc.com>
> > > Tested-by: Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@codeaurora.org>
> > > ---
> > >  arch/arm64/include/asm/topology.h |  23 ---
> > >  arch/arm64/kernel/topology.c      | 303 +-----------------------------
> > >  drivers/base/arch_topology.c      | 296 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> > >  include/linux/arch_topology.h     |  28 +++
> > >  include/linux/topology.h          |   1 +
> > >  5 files changed, 329 insertions(+), 322 deletions(-)
> >
> > What, now _I_ have to maintain drivers/base/arch_topology.c?  That's
> > nice for everyone else, but not me :(
> >
> > Ugh.
> >
> > Anyway, what are you wanting to happen to this series?  I think we need
> > some ARM people to sign off on it before I can take the whole thing,
> > right?
> >
> 
> Greg, I am ready to take ownership. Juri the original author of this file
> agreed and I have been reviewing this file since Juri first wrote it.
> I am happy to submit a patch assuming maintainership for this file, was
> just waiting to hear from you when I asked explicitly you and Juri in
> last version of the patch when Will wanted someone from ARM to be reviewer
> of this file at-least. I am happy to take over as reviewer or maintainer
> which ever you prefer.

Yes, please just include this update to MAINTAINERS as part of the series.
I'll ack it.

Will

  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-24  9:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-24  0:06 [RFT PATCH v5 0/5] Unify CPU topology across ARM & RISC-V Atish Patra
2019-05-24  0:06 ` [RFT PATCH v5 1/5] Documentation: DT: arm: add support for sockets defining package boundaries Atish Patra
2019-05-24  0:06 ` [RFT PATCH v5 2/5] dt-binding: cpu-topology: Move cpu-map to a common binding Atish Patra
2019-05-24  0:06 ` [RFT PATCH v5 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code Atish Patra
2019-05-24  8:13   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2019-05-24  8:57     ` Sudeep Holla
2019-05-24  9:38       ` Will Deacon [this message]
2019-05-29 10:48   ` Sudeep Holla
2019-05-29 17:24     ` Atish Patra
2019-05-24  0:06 ` [RFT PATCH v5 4/5] arm: Use common cpu_topology structure and functions Atish Patra
2019-05-29 15:10   ` Sudeep Holla
2019-05-24  0:06 ` [RFT PATCH v5 5/5] RISC-V: Parse cpu topology during boot Atish Patra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190524093754.GA3432@fuggles.cambridge.arm.com \
    --to=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=anup@brainfault.org \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=atish.patra@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jeremy.linton@arm.com \
    --cc=jhugo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=morten.rasmussen@arm.com \
    --cc=ottosabart@seberm.com \
    --cc=palmer@sifive.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=schwab@suse.de \
    --cc=sudeep.holla@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --subject='Re: [RFT PATCH v5 3/5] cpu-topology: Move cpu topology code to common code.' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).