LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
To: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@intel.com>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>,
	David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	lkml <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Tom Vaden <tom.vaden@hpe.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@vmware.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC] perf/x86/intel: Disable check_msr for real hw
Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2019 20:49:52 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190624184952.GA8743@krava> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190624183806.GD31027@tassilo.jf.intel.com>

On Mon, Jun 24, 2019 at 11:38:06AM -0700, Andi Kleen wrote:
> > Tom, plz correctme if I'm wrongm but AFAIK because the LBR tracing is
> > enabled during the boot the lbr_from/lbr_to registers will fail the
> > check_msr 'val_new != val_tmp' check
> 
> Ok this should be handleable. It should be enough to check
> the ctrl register, if that working likely we don't need
> to check the data registers which might be changing.

if the control register check is enough, we should be ok then,
I'll send new version

thanks,
jirka

      reply	other threads:[~2019-06-24 18:49 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-14 11:28 Jiri Olsa
2019-06-14 13:33 ` Peter Zijlstra
2019-06-14 13:45 ` Liang, Kan
2019-06-16 14:13   ` [PATCH] " Jiri Olsa
2019-06-16 20:56     ` Vaden, Tom (HPE Server OS Architecture)
2019-06-17 14:41     ` [tip:perf/core] perf/x86/intel: Disable check_msr for real HW tip-bot for Jiri Olsa
2019-06-21 17:48 ` [RFC] perf/x86/intel: Disable check_msr for real hw Andi Kleen
2019-06-23 22:40   ` Jiri Olsa
2019-06-23 23:44     ` Vaden, Tom (HPE Server OS Architecture)
2019-06-24  8:06     ` Paolo Bonzini
2019-06-24 16:46     ` Andi Kleen
2019-06-24 18:06       ` Jiri Olsa
2019-06-24 18:38         ` Andi Kleen
2019-06-24 18:49           ` Jiri Olsa [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190624184952.GA8743@krava \
    --to=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=akataria@vmware.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=davidcc@google.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jolsa@kernel.org \
    --cc=kan.liang@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tom.vaden@hpe.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC] perf/x86/intel: Disable check_msr for real hw' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).