LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
To: Iuliana Prodan <iuliana.prodan@nxp.com>
Cc: Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@linaro.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Corentin Labbe <clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com>,
	Horia Geanta <horia.geanta@nxp.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	Aymen Sghaier <aymen.sghaier@nxp.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Silvano Di Ninno <silvano.dininno@nxp.com>,
	Franck Lenormand <franck.lenormand@nxp.com>,
	"linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org" <linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@nxp.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests
Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2020 14:29:24 +1100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200317032924.GB18743@gondor.apana.org.au> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <AM0PR04MB71710B3535153286D9F31F8B8CFD0@AM0PR04MB7171.eurprd04.prod.outlook.com>

On Thu, Mar 12, 2020 at 12:45:54PM +0000, Iuliana Prodan wrote:
>
> There are two aspects here:
> - if all requests go through crypto-engine, and, in this case, if there 
> is no space in hw queue, do_one_req returns 0, and actually there will 
> be no case of do_one_request() < 0;

OK, that makes sense.  However, this way of signaling for more
requests can be racy.  Unless you can guarantee that the driver
is not taking any requests from another engine queue (or any
other source), just because it returned a positive value now does
not mean that it would be able to take a request the next time
you come around the loop.

> I've tried this, but it implies modifications in all drivers. For 
> example, a driver, in case of error, it frees the resources of the 
> request. So, will need to map again a request.

I think what we are doing here is a major overhaul to the crypto
engine API so while it's always a good idea to minimise the impact,
we should not let the existing drivers constrain us too much.

Thanks,
-- 
Email: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Home Page: http://gondor.apana.org.au/~herbert/
PGP Key: http://gondor.apana.org.au/~herbert/pubkey.txt

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-03-17  3:29 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-08 22:51 [PATCH v4 0/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel and batch requests Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-08 22:51 ` [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-12  3:25   ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-12 11:05     ` Horia Geantă
2020-03-17  3:22       ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-12 12:45     ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-12 12:52       ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-17  3:29       ` Herbert Xu [this message]
2020-03-17 13:08         ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-03-27  4:44           ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-27 10:44             ` Iuliana Prodan
2020-04-03  6:19               ` Herbert Xu
2020-03-08 22:51 ` [PATCH v4 2/2] crypto: engine - support for batch requests Iuliana Prodan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200317032924.GB18743@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --to=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@st.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=aymen.sghaier@nxp.com \
    --cc=baolin.wang@linaro.org \
    --cc=clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=franck.lenormand@nxp.com \
    --cc=horia.geanta@nxp.com \
    --cc=iuliana.prodan@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=silvano.dininno@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 1/2] crypto: engine - support for parallel requests' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).