LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
To: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@akamai.com>,
	Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiwei Sun <jiwei.sun@windriver.com>,
	yuzhoujian <yuzhoujian@didichuxing.com>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>, Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] perf tools: add support for libpfm4
Date: Wed, 18 Mar 2020 11:22:54 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200318102254.GC821557@krava> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200311213613.210749-1-irogers@google.com>

On Wed, Mar 11, 2020 at 02:36:13PM -0700, Ian Rogers wrote:
> This patch links perf with the libpfm4 library if it is available and
> NO_LIBPFM4 isn't passed to the build. The libpfm4 library contains hardware
> event tables for all processors supported by perf_events. It is a helper
> library that helps convert from a symbolic event name to the event
> encoding required by the underlying kernel interface. This
> library is open-source and available from: http://perfmon2.sf.net.
> 
> With this patch, it is possible to specify full hardware events
> by name. Hardware filters are also supported. Events must be
> specified via the --pfm-events and not -e option. Both options
> are active at the same time and it is possible to mix and match:
> 
> $ perf stat --pfm-events inst_retired:any_p:c=1:i -e cycles ....
> 
> v3 is against acme/perf/core removes a diagnostic warning
> v2 of this patch makes the --pfm-events man page documentation
> conditional on libpfm4 behing configured. It tidies some of the
> documentation and adds the feature test missed in the v1 patch.
> 
> Author: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>

hi,
is this the latest version? I can't apply it on Arnaldo's perf/core

jirka


  reply	other threads:[~2020-03-18 10:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-11 21:36 Ian Rogers
2020-03-18 10:22 ` Jiri Olsa [this message]
2020-03-19  4:15   ` Ian Rogers

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200318102254.GC821557@krava \
    --to=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriin@fb.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=ilubashe@akamai.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=jiwei.sun@windriver.com \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yuzhoujian@didichuxing.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3] perf tools: add support for libpfm4' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).