LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Paul Cercueil <paul@crapouillou.net>,
	"Ben Dooks (Codethink)" <ben.dooks@codethink.co.uk>,
	"Ahmed S. Darwish" <a.darwish@linutronix.de>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/6] arm64: perf: Implement correct cap_user_time
Date: Wed, 15 Jul 2020 10:38:00 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200715083800.GC10769@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200715020512.20991-3-leo.yan@linaro.org>

On Wed, Jul 15, 2020 at 10:05:08AM +0800, Leo Yan wrote:

> [leoyan: Use quot/rem to convert cyc to ns to avoid overflow]

> +		quot = rd->epoch_cyc >> rd->shift;
> +		rem = rd->epoch_cyc & (((u64)1 << rd->shift) - 1);
> +		ns = quot * rd->mult + ((rem * rd->mult) >> rd->shift);
> +		userpg->time_zero -= ns;

I think we have mul_u64_u32_shr() for that.


  reply	other threads:[~2020-07-15  8:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-15  2:05 [PATCH v2 0/6] arm64: perf: Proper cap_user_time* support Leo Yan
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 1/6] sched_clock: Expose struct clock_read_data Leo Yan
2020-07-15  5:56   ` Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15  6:54     ` Leo Yan
2020-07-15  7:21       ` Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15  8:12     ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-15  8:14       ` peterz
2020-07-15  9:23         ` Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15  9:52           ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-15 11:59             ` [PATCH] time/sched_clock: Use raw_read_seqcount_latch() Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15 15:29               ` Leo Yan
2020-07-15 15:58                 ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-16  5:22                   ` Leo Yan
2020-09-10 15:08           ` [tip: locking/core] time/sched_clock: Use raw_read_seqcount_latch() during suspend tip-bot2 for Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 2/6] arm64: perf: Implement correct cap_user_time Leo Yan
2020-07-15  8:38   ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2020-07-15 15:39     ` Leo Yan
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 3/6] arm64: perf: Only advertise cap_user_time for arch_timer Leo Yan
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] perf: Add perf_event_mmap_page::cap_user_time_short ABI Leo Yan
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] arm64: perf: Add cap_user_time_short Leo Yan
2020-07-15  2:05 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] tools headers UAPI: Update tools's copy of linux/perf_event.h Leo Yan
2020-07-15  5:17 ` [PATCH v2 0/6] arm64: perf: Proper cap_user_time* support Ahmed S. Darwish
2020-07-15  6:29   ` Leo Yan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200715083800.GC10769@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=a.darwish@linutronix.de \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=ben.dooks@codethink.co.uk \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=paul@crapouillou.net \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/6] arm64: perf: Implement correct cap_user_time' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
on how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox