LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-rt-users@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Subject: [PATCH 0/3] sched: migrate_disable() vs per-CPU access safety checks
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2021 12:51:15 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210721115118.729943-1-valentin.schneider@arm.com> (raw)

Hi folks,

I've hit a few warnings when taking v5.13-rt1 out for a spin on my arm64
Juno. Those are due to regions that become preemptible under PREEMPT_RT, but
remain safe wrt per-CPU accesses due to migrate_disable() + a sleepable lock.

This adds a helper that looks at not just preemptability but also affinity and
migrate disable, and plasters the warning sites.

Cheers,
Valentin

Valentin Schneider (3):
  sched: Introduce is_pcpu_safe()
  rcu/nocb: Check for migratability rather than pure preemptability
  arm64: mm: Make arch_faults_on_old_pte() check for migratability

 arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h |  2 +-
 include/linux/sched.h            | 10 ++++++++++
 kernel/rcu/tree_plugin.h         |  3 +--
 3 files changed, 12 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

--
2.25.1


             reply	other threads:[~2021-07-21 12:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-21 11:51 Valentin Schneider [this message]
2021-07-21 11:51 ` [PATCH 1/3] sched: Introduce is_pcpu_safe() Valentin Schneider
2021-07-27 16:23   ` Paul E. McKenney
2021-07-21 11:51 ` [PATCH 2/3] rcu/nocb: Check for migratability rather than pure preemptability Valentin Schneider
2021-07-27 16:24   ` Paul E. McKenney
2021-07-27 23:08   ` Frederic Weisbecker
2021-07-28 19:34     ` Valentin Schneider
2021-07-28 22:01       ` Frederic Weisbecker
2021-07-29  1:04         ` Paul E. McKenney
2021-07-29 10:51           ` Valentin Schneider
2021-07-21 11:51 ` [PATCH 3/3] arm64: mm: Make arch_faults_on_old_pte() check for migratability Valentin Schneider
2021-07-27 19:45 ` [PATCH 0/3] sched: migrate_disable() vs per-CPU access safety checks Thomas Gleixner

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210721115118.729943-1-valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --to=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rt-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/3] sched: migrate_disable() vs per-CPU access safety checks' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).