LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 08/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Prevent double-free
Date: Thu, 22 Jul 2021 11:38:21 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210722093821.nnmcldjts2boxctu@gilmour> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YPcFrKLq1dhTcOUL@ravnborg.org>

[-- Attachment #1: Type: text/plain, Size: 830 bytes --]

On Tue, Jul 20, 2021 at 07:19:40PM +0200, Sam Ravnborg wrote:
> Hi Maxime,
> On Tue, Jul 20, 2021 at 03:45:23PM +0200, Maxime Ripard wrote:
> > The mipi_dsi_device allocated by mipi_dsi_device_register_full() is
> > already free'd on release.
> > 
> > Fixes: 2f733d6194bd ("drm/panel: Add support for the Raspberry Pi 7" Touchscreen.")
> > Signed-off-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
>
> Reviewed-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>

Thanks, I applied it to drm-misc-fixes

> I did a quick audit (as using grep mostly) to see if other panels had
> the same bug, but did not find others.

Yeah, the RaspberryPi panel seems to be the only odd DSI panel not
controlled through DCS, and the other panels don't have to allocate the
mipi-dsi device anyway.

No bridge seems to have the issue though.

Maxime

[-- Attachment #2: signature.asc --]
[-- Type: application/pgp-signature, Size: 228 bytes --]

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-22  9:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-20 13:45 [PATCH 00/10] drm/bridge: Make panel and bridge probe order consistent Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 01/10] Revert "drm/vc4: dsi: Only register our component once a DSI device is attached" Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 02/10] drm/bridge: Add a function to abstract away panels Maxime Ripard
2021-07-22  7:49   ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 03/10] drm/bridge: Add documentation sections Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 04/10] drm/bridge: Document the probe issue with MIPI-DSI bridges Maxime Ripard
2021-07-21 12:05   ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-21 12:06     ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-26 15:16     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-07-27  9:20       ` Daniel Vetter
2021-07-28 13:27         ` Maxime Ripard
2021-07-27  9:42   ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-28 13:35     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-08-05 12:19       ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 05/10] drm/panel: Create attach and detach callbacks Maxime Ripard
2021-07-22  7:53   ` Jagan Teki
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 06/10] drm/bridge: panel: Call attach and detach for the panel Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 07/10] drm/vc4: dsi: Switch to drm_of_get_next Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 08/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Prevent double-free Maxime Ripard
     [not found]   ` <YPcFrKLq1dhTcOUL@ravnborg.org>
2021-07-22  9:38     ` Maxime Ripard [this message]
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 09/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Use the attach hook Maxime Ripard
2021-07-20 13:45 ` [PATCH 10/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Remove MIPI-DSI driver Maxime Ripard

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210722093821.nnmcldjts2boxctu@gilmour \
    --to=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 08/10] drm/panel: raspberrypi-touchscreen: Prevent double-free' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).