LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
To: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: erdemaktas@google.com, Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>,
	Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>, Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>,
	Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>, Andrew Jones <drjones@redhat.com>,
	Ben Gardon <bgardon@google.com>, Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com>,
	Emanuele Giuseppe Esposito <eesposit@redhat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Ricardo Koller <ricarkol@google.com>,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Yanan Wang <wangyanan55@huawei.com>,
	Aaron Lewis <aaronlewis@google.com>,
	Jim Mattson <jmattson@google.com>,
	Oliver Upton <oupton@google.com>,
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>,
	Peter Shier <pshier@google.com>,
	Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>,
	Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@intel.com>,
	"Maciej S. Szmigiero" <maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com>,
	Like Xu <like.xu@linux.intel.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL VIRTUAL MACHINE (KVM)" <kvm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs
Date: Mon, 26 Jul 2021 11:37:54 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210726183816.1343022-2-erdemaktas@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210726183816.1343022-1-erdemaktas@google.com>

Currently vm_create function only creates KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM type VMs.
Changing the vm_create function to accept type parameter to create
new VM types.

Signed-off-by: Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Sagi Shahar <sagis@google.com>
---
 .../testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h  |  1 +
 tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c    | 29 +++++++++++++++++--
 2 files changed, 27 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
index d53bfadd2..c63df42d6 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/include/kvm_util.h
@@ -88,6 +88,7 @@ int vcpu_enable_cap(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t vcpu_id,
 void vm_enable_dirty_ring(struct kvm_vm *vm, uint32_t ring_size);
 
 struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm);
+struct kvm_vm *__vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm, int type);
 void kvm_vm_free(struct kvm_vm *vmp);
 void kvm_vm_restart(struct kvm_vm *vmp, int perm);
 void kvm_vm_release(struct kvm_vm *vmp);
diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
index e5fbf16f7..70caa3882 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/kvm/lib/kvm_util.c
@@ -180,13 +180,36 @@ _Static_assert(sizeof(vm_guest_mode_params)/sizeof(struct vm_guest_mode_params)
  * Return:
  *   Pointer to opaque structure that describes the created VM.
  *
- * Creates a VM with the mode specified by mode (e.g. VM_MODE_P52V48_4K).
+ * Wrapper VM Create function to create a VM with default type (0).
+ */
+struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm)
+{
+	return __vm_create(mode, phy_pages, perm, 0);
+}
+
+/*
+ * VM Create with a custom type
+ *
+ * Input Args:
+ *   mode - VM Mode (e.g. VM_MODE_P52V48_4K)
+ *   phy_pages - Physical memory pages
+ *   perm - permission
+ *   type - VM type
+ *
+ * Output Args: None
+ *
+ * Return:
+ *   Pointer to opaque structure that describes the created VM.
+ *
+ * Creates a VM with the mode specified by mode (e.g. VM_MODE_P52V48_4K) and the
+ * type specified in type (e.g. KVM_X86_LEGACY_VM, KVM_X86_TDX_VM ...).
  * When phy_pages is non-zero, a memory region of phy_pages physical pages
  * is created and mapped starting at guest physical address 0.  The file
  * descriptor to control the created VM is created with the permissions
  * given by perm (e.g. O_RDWR).
  */
-struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm)
+struct kvm_vm *__vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages,
+			    int perm, int type)
 {
 	struct kvm_vm *vm;
 
@@ -200,7 +223,7 @@ struct kvm_vm *vm_create(enum vm_guest_mode mode, uint64_t phy_pages, int perm)
 	INIT_LIST_HEAD(&vm->userspace_mem_regions);
 
 	vm->mode = mode;
-	vm->type = 0;
+	vm->type = type;
 
 	vm->pa_bits = vm_guest_mode_params[mode].pa_bits;
 	vm->va_bits = vm_guest_mode_params[mode].va_bits;
-- 
2.32.0.432.gabb21c7263-goog


  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-26 18:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-26 18:37 [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` Erdem Aktas [this message]
2021-07-26 22:26   ` [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs David Matlack
2021-07-27 20:47     ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-28 16:07       ` David Matlack
2021-07-28 20:11         ` Andrew Jones
2021-08-04  6:09   ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:24     ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 14:42       ` Xiaoyao Li
2021-08-04 14:45         ` Maxim Levitsky
2021-08-04 20:29           ` Erdem Aktas
2021-08-04 23:31             ` Sean Christopherson
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 2/4] KVM: selftest: Add helper functions to create TDX VMs Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 3/4] KVM: selftest: Adding TDX life cycle test Erdem Aktas
2021-07-26 22:42   ` David Matlack
2021-07-26 18:37 ` [RFC PATCH 4/4] KVM: selftest: Adding test case for TDX port IO Erdem Aktas
2021-07-28  4:02 ` [RFC PATCH 0/4] TDX KVM selftests Duan, Zhenzhong

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210726183816.1343022-2-erdemaktas@google.com \
    --to=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=aaronlewis@google.com \
    --cc=axelrasmussen@google.com \
    --cc=bgardon@google.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=dmatlack@google.com \
    --cc=drjones@redhat.com \
    --cc=eesposit@redhat.com \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=jmattson@google.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=like.xu@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maciej.szmigiero@oracle.com \
    --cc=marcorr@google.com \
    --cc=oupton@google.com \
    --cc=pbonzini@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=pgonda@google.com \
    --cc=pshier@google.com \
    --cc=ricarkol@google.com \
    --cc=sagis@google.com \
    --cc=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=vkuznets@redhat.com \
    --cc=wangyanan55@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhenzhong.duan@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH 1/4] KVM: selftests: Add support for creating non-default type VMs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).