LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>
To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>
Subject: [PATCH 0/2] A couple of sched_getattr() fixes for DL
Date: Tue, 27 Jul 2021 11:11:00 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210727101103.2729607-1-qperret@google.com> (raw)

Hi all,

In the context of [1] it became apparent that the way __getparam_dl()
copies the sched_flags into the dl_entity struct for deadline tasks can
have undesirable side effects. This series fixes two issues in that area
causing sched_getattr() to report stale values or things it shouldn't
report to userspace.

Thanks,
Quentin

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/ad30be79-8fb2-023d-9936-01f7173164e4@arm.com/

Quentin Perret (2):
  sched/deadline: Fix reset_on_fork reporting of DL tasks
  sched: Don't report SCHED_FLAG_SUGOV in sched_getattr()

 kernel/sched/core.c     | 1 +
 kernel/sched/deadline.c | 7 ++++---
 kernel/sched/sched.h    | 2 ++
 3 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

-- 
2.32.0.432.gabb21c7263-goog


             reply	other threads:[~2021-07-27 10:11 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-27 10:11 Quentin Perret [this message]
2021-07-27 10:11 ` [PATCH 1/2] sched/deadline: Fix reset_on_fork reporting of DL tasks Quentin Perret
2021-07-29 16:26   ` Dietmar Eggemann
2021-08-05  9:34   ` [tip: sched/core] " tip-bot2 for Quentin Perret
2021-07-27 10:11 ` [PATCH 2/2] sched: Don't report SCHED_FLAG_SUGOV in sched_getattr() Quentin Perret
2021-07-28  9:12   ` Juri Lelli
2021-07-28  9:39     ` Quentin Perret
2021-07-28 12:36       ` Juri Lelli
2021-07-29 17:21         ` Dietmar Eggemann
2021-07-29 17:28           ` Quentin Perret
2021-08-05  9:34   ` [tip: sched/core] " tip-bot2 for Quentin Perret

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210727101103.2729607-1-qperret@google.com \
    --to=qperret@google.com \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/2] A couple of sched_getattr() fixes for DL' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).