LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
To: "Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Pan, Xinhui" <Xinhui.Pan@amd.com>,
	"Zhenyu Wang" <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>,
	"Zhi Wang" <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"Jason Baron" <jbaron@akamai.com>,
	"Ashley Thomas" <Ashley.Thomas2@amd.com>,
	"Qingqing Zhuo" <qingqing.zhuo@amd.com>,
	"Aurabindo Pillai" <aurabindo.pillai@amd.com>,
	"Wyatt Wood" <Wyatt.Wood@amd.com>,
	"Jim Cromie" <jim.cromie@gmail.com>,
	"Jessica Yu" <jeyu@kernel.org>, "Johan Hovold" <johan@kernel.org>,
	"Miguel Ojeda" <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@gooogle.com>,
	"Joe Perches" <joe@perches.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Subject: [PATCH v4 5/7] i915/gvt: control pr_debug("gvt:")s with bits in parameters/debug_gvt
Date: Sat, 31 Jul 2021 15:42:02 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210731214211.657280-6-jim.cromie@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210731214211.657280-1-jim.cromie@gmail.com>

The gvt component of this driver has ~120 pr_debugs, in 9 "classes".
Following the interface model of drm.debug, add a parameter to map
bits to these classes.

If CONFIG_DRM_USE_DYNAMIC_DEBUG=y (and CONFIG_DYNAMIC_DEBUG_CORE), add
-DDYNAMIC_DEBUG_MODULE into Makefile.  TBD: maybe add a separate
CONFIG_I915_USE_DYNAMIC_DEBUG to more fully optionalize this.

this is close to our target:

DYNDBG_BITMAP_DESC(__gvt_debug, "dyndbg bitmap desc",
	{ "gvt: cmd: ",  "command processing" },
	{ "gvt: core: ", "core help" },
	{ "gvt: dpy: ",  "display help" },
	{ "gvt: el: ",   "help" },
	{ "gvt: irq: ",  "help" },
	{ "gvt: mm: ",   "help" },
	{ "gvt: mmio: ", "help" },
	{ "gvt: render: ", "help" },
	{ "gvt: sched: " "help" });

actual patch has a few details different, helper macros mainly.

Signed-off-by: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/Makefile  |  4 ++++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_params.c | 34 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 include/drm/drm_print.h            |  3 ++-
 3 files changed, 40 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/Makefile b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/Makefile
index ea8324abc784..846ba73b8de6 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/Makefile
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/Makefile
@@ -7,3 +7,7 @@ GVT_SOURCE := gvt.o aperture_gm.o handlers.o vgpu.o trace_points.o firmware.o \
 
 ccflags-y				+= -I $(srctree)/$(src) -I $(srctree)/$(src)/$(GVT_DIR)/
 i915-y					+= $(addprefix $(GVT_DIR)/, $(GVT_SOURCE))
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_DRM_USE_DYNAMIC_DEBUG
+ccflags-y	+= -DDYNAMIC_DEBUG_MODULE
+#endif
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_params.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_params.c
index e07f4cfea63a..c951ef76454f 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_params.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_params.c
@@ -265,3 +265,37 @@ void i915_params_free(struct i915_params *params)
 	I915_PARAMS_FOR_EACH(FREE);
 #undef FREE
 }
+
+/* POC for callback -> dynamic_debug_exec_queries */
+unsigned long __gvt_debug;
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(__gvt_debug);
+
+#define _help(key)	"\t\"" key "\"\t: help for " key "\n"
+#define cmd_help(key)	{ .prefix = key, .help = key ": help for " key }
+
+#define I915_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(name) \
+	"Enable debug output via /sys/module/i915/parameters/" #name	\
+	", where each bit enables a debug category.\n"			\
+	_help("gvt:cmd:")						\
+	_help("gvt:core:")						\
+	_help("gvt:dpy:")						\
+	_help("gvt:el:")						\
+	_help("gvt:irq:")						\
+	_help("gvt:mm:")						\
+	_help("gvt:mmio:")						\
+	_help("gvt:render:")						\
+	_help("gvt:sched:")
+
+MODULE_PARM_DESC(debug_gvt, I915_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(debug_gvt));
+
+DEFINE_DYNDBG_BITMAP(debug_gvt, &__gvt_debug,
+		   I915_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(debug_gvt),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:cmd:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:core:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:dpy:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:el:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:irq:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:mm:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:mmio:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:render:"),
+		   cmd_help("gvt:sched:"));
diff --git a/include/drm/drm_print.h b/include/drm/drm_print.h
index 15a089a87c22..47803c64b144 100644
--- a/include/drm/drm_print.h
+++ b/include/drm/drm_print.h
@@ -530,7 +530,8 @@ void __drm_err(const char *format, ...);
 	const struct drm_device *drm_ = (drm);							\
 												\
 	if (drm_debug_enabled(DRM_UT_ ## category) && __ratelimit(&rs_))			\
-		drm_dev_printk(drm_ ? drm_->dev : NULL, KERN_DEBUG, fmt, ## __VA_ARGS__);	\
+		drm_dev_dbg((drm_) ? (drm_)->dev : NULL,					\
+			    DRM_DBG_CLASS_ ## category, fmt, ##__VA_ARGS__);			\
 })
 
 #define drm_dbg_kms_ratelimited(drm, fmt, ...) \
-- 
2.31.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-31 21:42 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-31 21:41 [PATCH v4 0/7] drm: use dyndbg in drm_print Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:41 ` [PATCH v4 1/7] drm/print: fixup spelling in a comment Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:41 ` [PATCH v4 2/7] moduleparam: add data member to struct kernel_param Jim Cromie
2021-08-02 16:18   ` Emil Velikov
2021-08-02 18:36     ` jim.cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 3/7] dyndbg: add dyndbg-bitmap definer and callbacks Jim Cromie
2021-08-02 16:24   ` [Intel-gfx] " Emil Velikov
2021-08-02 18:40     ` jim.cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 4/7] i915/gvt: remove spaces in pr_debug "gvt: core:" etc prefixes Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` Jim Cromie [this message]
2021-08-02 16:27   ` [PATCH v4 5/7] i915/gvt: control pr_debug("gvt:")s with bits in parameters/debug_gvt Emil Velikov
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 6/7] drm/print: add choice to use dynamic debug in drm-debug Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 7/7] amdgpu: define a dydbg-bitmap to control categorized pr_debugs Jim Cromie

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210731214211.657280-6-jim.cromie@gmail.com \
    --to=jim.cromie@gmail.com \
    --cc=Ashley.Thomas2@amd.com \
    --cc=Wyatt.Wood@amd.com \
    --cc=Xinhui.Pan@amd.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=aurabindo.pillai@amd.com \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jbaron@akamai.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@gooogle.com \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=qingqing.zhuo@amd.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=zhenyuw@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=zhi.a.wang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 5/7] i915/gvt: control pr_debug("gvt:")s with bits in parameters/debug_gvt' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).