LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
To: "Maarten Lankhorst" <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Zimmermann" <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Harry Wentland" <harry.wentland@amd.com>,
	"Leo Li" <sunpeng.li@amd.com>,
	"Alex Deucher" <alexander.deucher@amd.com>,
	"Christian König" <christian.koenig@amd.com>,
	"Pan, Xinhui" <Xinhui.Pan@amd.com>,
	"Zhenyu Wang" <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>,
	"Zhi Wang" <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>,
	"Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"Jason Baron" <jbaron@akamai.com>,
	"Ashley Thomas" <Ashley.Thomas2@amd.com>,
	"Aurabindo Pillai" <aurabindo.pillai@amd.com>,
	"Wyatt Wood" <Wyatt.Wood@amd.com>,
	"Qingqing Zhuo" <qingqing.zhuo@amd.com>,
	"Jim Cromie" <jim.cromie@gmail.com>,
	"Johan Hovold" <johan@kernel.org>, "Jessica Yu" <jeyu@kernel.org>,
	"Joe Perches" <joe@perches.com>,
	"Miguel Ojeda" <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@gooogle.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Subject: [PATCH v4 7/7] amdgpu: define a dydbg-bitmap to control categorized pr_debugs
Date: Sat, 31 Jul 2021 15:42:04 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210731214211.657280-8-jim.cromie@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210731214211.657280-1-jim.cromie@gmail.com>

logger_types.h defines many DC_LOG_*() categorized debug wrappers.
Many of these use DRM_DEBUG_*, so are controllable using drm.debug,
but others use bare pr_debug()s, each with a different class-prefix
matching "^[\w+]:"

Use DYNDBG_BITMAP_DESC() to create a parameter/debug_dc, and to define
bits to control those pr_debugs by their category.

Signed-off-by: Jim Cromie <jim.cromie@gmail.com>
---
 .../gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/core/dc_debug.c    | 42 ++++++++++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 41 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/core/dc_debug.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/core/dc_debug.c
index 21be2a684393..3041e0c3d726 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/core/dc_debug.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/display/dc/core/dc_debug.c
@@ -36,8 +36,48 @@
 
 #include "resource.h"
 
-#define DC_LOGGER_INIT(logger)
+/* define a drm.debug style dyndbg pr-debug control point */
+unsigned long __debug_dc;
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(__debug_dc);
+
+#define _help(key)	"\t\t" key " : help for " key "\n"
+#define cmd_help(key)	{ .prefix = key, .help = "help for " key }
+
+/* Id like to do these inside DEFINE_DYNDBG_BITMAP, later */
+#define MY_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(name)					\
+	"Enable debug output via /sys/module/amdgpu/parameters/" #name	\
+	", where each bit enables a debug category.\n"			\
+		_help("[SURFACE]:")					\
+		_help("[CURSOR]:")					\
+		_help("[PFLIP]:")					\
+		_help("[VBLANK]:")					\
+		_help("[HW_LINK_TRAINING]:")				\
+		_help("[HW_AUDIO]:")					\
+		_help("[SCALER]:")					\
+		_help("[BIOS]:")					\
+		_help("[BANDWIDTH_CALCS]:")				\
+		_help("[DML]:")						\
+		_help("[IF_TRACE]:")					\
+		_help("[GAMMA]:")					\
+		_help("[SMU_MSG]:")
+MODULE_PARM_DESC(debug_dc, MY_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(name));
+
+DEFINE_DYNDBG_BITMAP(debug_dc, &__debug_dc,
+		     MY_DYNDBG_PARM_DESC(debug_dc),
+		     cmd_help("[CURSOR]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[PFLIP]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[VBLANK]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[HW_LINK_TRAINING]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[HW_AUDIO]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[SCALER]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[BIOS]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[BANDWIDTH_CALCS]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[DML]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[IF_TRACE]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[GAMMA]:"),
+		     cmd_help("[SMU_MSG]:"));
 
+#define DC_LOGGER_INIT(logger)
 
 #define SURFACE_TRACE(...) do {\
 		if (dc->debug.surface_trace) \
-- 
2.31.1


      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-31 21:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-31 21:41 [PATCH v4 0/7] drm: use dyndbg in drm_print Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:41 ` [PATCH v4 1/7] drm/print: fixup spelling in a comment Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:41 ` [PATCH v4 2/7] moduleparam: add data member to struct kernel_param Jim Cromie
2021-08-02 16:18   ` Emil Velikov
2021-08-02 18:36     ` jim.cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 3/7] dyndbg: add dyndbg-bitmap definer and callbacks Jim Cromie
2021-08-02 16:24   ` [Intel-gfx] " Emil Velikov
2021-08-02 18:40     ` jim.cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 4/7] i915/gvt: remove spaces in pr_debug "gvt: core:" etc prefixes Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 5/7] i915/gvt: control pr_debug("gvt:")s with bits in parameters/debug_gvt Jim Cromie
2021-08-02 16:27   ` Emil Velikov
2021-07-31 21:42 ` [PATCH v4 6/7] drm/print: add choice to use dynamic debug in drm-debug Jim Cromie
2021-07-31 21:42 ` Jim Cromie [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210731214211.657280-8-jim.cromie@gmail.com \
    --to=jim.cromie@gmail.com \
    --cc=Ashley.Thomas2@amd.com \
    --cc=Wyatt.Wood@amd.com \
    --cc=Xinhui.Pan@amd.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=alexander.deucher@amd.com \
    --cc=amd-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=aurabindo.pillai@amd.com \
    --cc=christian.koenig@amd.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=harry.wentland@amd.com \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jbaron@akamai.com \
    --cc=jeyu@kernel.org \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=johan@kernel.org \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@gooogle.com \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=qingqing.zhuo@amd.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=sunpeng.li@amd.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --cc=zhenyuw@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=zhi.a.wang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 7/7] amdgpu: define a dydbg-bitmap to control categorized pr_debugs' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).