LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>,
	Santosh Shilimkar <ssantosh@kernel.org>
Cc: Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@ACULAB.COM>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] drivers/soc: Remove all strcpy() uses
Date: Sun, 1 Aug 2021 10:47:31 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210801084731.GA2588@titan> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210731171825.12865-1-len.baker@gmx.com>

On Sat, Jul 31, 2021 at 07:18:25PM +0200, Len Baker wrote:
> strcpy() performs no bounds checking on the destination buffer. This
> could result in linear overflows beyond the end of the buffer, leading
> to all kinds of misbehaviors. The safe replacement is strscpy().
>
> Moreover, when the size of the destination buffer cannot be obtained
> using "sizeof", use the memcpy function instead of strscpy.
>
> Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
> Signed-off-by: Len Baker <len.baker@gmx.com>

Drop this patch. It has errors. Sorry for the noise.

Apologies,
Len

      reply	other threads:[~2021-08-01  8:48 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-31 17:18 Len Baker
2021-08-01  8:47 ` Len Baker [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210801084731.GA2588@titan \
    --to=len.baker@gmx.com \
    --cc=David.Laight@ACULAB.COM \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=magnus.damm@gmail.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=ssantosh@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2] drivers/soc: Remove all strcpy() uses' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).