LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Russell King (Oracle)" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Alexandre Belloni" <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	"Michael Turquette" <mturquette@baylibre.com>,
	"Thierry Reding" <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	"Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	linux-clk <linux-clk@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:REAL TIME CLOCK (RTC) SUBSYSTEM"
	<linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Ludovic Desroches" <Ludovic.Desroches@microchip.com>,
	"Oleksij Rempel" <o.rempel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Alexandru Ardelean" <aardelean@deviqon.com>,
	linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org, "Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Jonathan Cameron" <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	"linux-arm Mailing List" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Alessandro Zummo" <a.zummo@towertech.it>,
	"Stephen Boyd" <sboyd@kernel.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-spi <linux-spi@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Wolfram Sang" <wsa@kernel.org>,
	"Sascha Hauer" <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Claudiu Beznea" <Claudiu.Beznea@microchip.com>
Subject: Re: About clk maintainership [Was: Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks]
Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2021 21:28:55 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210802202855.GL22278@shell.armlinux.org.uk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAHp75VcpA0vOwN8gBj2iikXW2dw+KCgZEM=QJ5Jx6UWqww=iCw@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Aug 02, 2021 at 08:13:05PM +0300, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> On Mon, Aug 2, 2021 at 7:38 PM Russell King (Oracle)
> <linux@armlinux.org.uk> wrote:
> > It probably depends on where you stand on power management and power
> > efficiency issues. Personally, I would like to see more effort put
> > into drivers to make them more power efficient, and I believe in the
> > coming years, power efficiency is going to become a big issue.
> 
> While in the ideal world I 100% agree with the approach, IRL we have
> to deal with constantly degrading quality of the code and instead of
> thinking about power management and efficiency the absence of APIs
> such as discussed provokes not only creating the power management
> inefficient code, but also memory leaks here and there.

The point of my previous reply that you quoted above was to make a
prediction, it wasn't a rejection of the approach.

-- 
RMK's Patch system: https://www.armlinux.org.uk/developer/patches/
FTTP is here! 40Mbps down 10Mbps up. Decent connectivity at last!

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-02 20:29 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 23+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210510174142.986250-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
     [not found] ` <20210609202123.u5rmw7al4x3rrvun@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]   ` <20210625171434.3xusxpxjprcdqa47@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]     ` <20210705080144.zfbzkm7l3gmnh6st@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]       ` <20210722060654.nudpdtemosi64nlb@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]         ` <YPkg0wtYIoHKpTUW@kunai>
     [not found]           ` <20210722081817.2tsjzof4gvldq6ka@pengutronix.de>
     [not found]             ` <YPlfcbkxiBmB+vw1@kunai>
     [not found]               ` <CAHp75VfC=s12Unw3+Cn0ag71mM5i90=Jbwj4nYwB5cPKiUTRSA@mail.gmail.com>
2021-07-23  9:13                 ` [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-26  9:18                   ` Claudiu.Beznea
2021-07-26  9:52                     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-26 12:32                       ` Wolfram Sang
2021-07-26 13:28                         ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-26 17:40                           ` Wolfram Sang
2021-07-28 20:25                     ` About clk maintainership [Was: Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks] Uwe Kleine-König
2021-07-28 20:40                       ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-07-31  7:41                         ` Stephen Boyd
2021-07-31  8:07                           ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-07-31 12:00                           ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-02  9:36                             ` Jonathan Cameron
2021-08-02  9:48                             ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-02 15:27                               ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-02 16:38                                 ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-02 17:13                                   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-02 20:28                                     ` Russell King (Oracle) [this message]
2021-08-03  8:11                                   ` Stephen Boyd
2021-08-03 10:40                                     ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-06  0:26                                       ` Stephen Boyd
2021-09-14 13:22                                         ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-09-14 13:52                                           ` Mark Brown
2021-08-03  7:44                               ` Stephen Boyd

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210802202855.GL22278@shell.armlinux.org.uk \
    --to=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=Claudiu.Beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=Ludovic.Desroches@microchip.com \
    --cc=a.zummo@towertech.it \
    --cc=aardelean@deviqon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-clk@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rtc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-spi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mturquette@baylibre.com \
    --cc=o.rempel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sboyd@kernel.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=wsa@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: About clk maintainership [Was: Re: [PULL] Add variants of devm_clk_get for prepared and enabled clocks enabled clocks]' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).