LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
To: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: kernel@pengutronix.de,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Russell Currey" <ruscur@russell.cc>,
	"Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Rafał Miłecki" <zajec5@gmail.com>,
	"Zhou Wang" <wangzhou1@hisilicon.com>,
	"Herbert Xu" <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Giovanni Cabiddu" <giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com>,
	"Sathya Prakash" <sathya.prakash@broadcom.com>,
	"Sreekanth Reddy" <sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com>,
	"Suganath Prabu Subramani"
	<suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com>,
	"Frederic Barrat" <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Andrew Donnellan" <ajd@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Yisen Zhuang" <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	"Salil Mehta" <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"Vadym Kochan" <vkochan@marvell.com>,
	"Taras Chornyi" <tchornyi@marvell.com>,
	"Jiri Pirko" <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	"Ido Schimmel" <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	"Simon Horman" <simon.horman@corigine.com>,
	"Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk" <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>,
	"Boris Ostrovsky" <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	"Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Michael Buesch" <m@bues.ch>,
	"Mathias Nyman" <mathias.nyman@intel.com>,
	"Fiona Trahe" <fiona.trahe@intel.com>,
	"Andy Shevchenko" <andriy.shevchenko@intel.com>,
	"Wojciech Ziemba" <wojciech.ziemba@intel.com>,
	"Alexander Duyck" <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org, linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, qat-linux@intel.com,
	MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, oss-drivers@corigine.com,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v2 6/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver
Date: Tue,  3 Aug 2021 12:01:50 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210803100150.1543597-7-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210803100150.1543597-1-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>

Currently it's tracked twice which driver is bound to a given pci
device. Now that all users of the pci specific one (struct
pci_dev::driver) are updated to use an access macro
(pci_driver_of_dev()), change the macro to use the information from the
driver core and remove the driver member from struct pci_dev.

Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
---
 drivers/pci/pci-driver.c | 4 ----
 include/linux/pci.h      | 3 +--
 2 files changed, 1 insertion(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/pci-driver.c b/drivers/pci/pci-driver.c
index 740d5bf5d411..5d950eb476e2 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/pci-driver.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/pci-driver.c
@@ -305,12 +305,10 @@ static long local_pci_probe(void *_ddi)
 	 * its remove routine.
 	 */
 	pm_runtime_get_sync(dev);
-	pci_dev->driver = pci_drv;
 	rc = pci_drv->probe(pci_dev, ddi->id);
 	if (!rc)
 		return rc;
 	if (rc < 0) {
-		pci_dev->driver = NULL;
 		pm_runtime_put_sync(dev);
 		return rc;
 	}
@@ -376,7 +374,6 @@ static int pci_call_probe(struct pci_driver *drv, struct pci_dev *dev,
  * @pci_dev: PCI device being probed
  *
  * returns 0 on success, else error.
- * side-effect: pci_dev->driver is set to drv when drv claims pci_dev.
  */
 static int __pci_device_probe(struct pci_driver *drv, struct pci_dev *pci_dev)
 {
@@ -451,7 +448,6 @@ static int pci_device_remove(struct device *dev)
 		pm_runtime_put_noidle(dev);
 	}
 	pcibios_free_irq(pci_dev);
-	pci_dev->driver = NULL;
 	pci_iov_remove(pci_dev);
 
 	/* Undo the runtime PM settings in local_pci_probe() */
diff --git a/include/linux/pci.h b/include/linux/pci.h
index 778f3b5e6f23..f44ab76e216f 100644
--- a/include/linux/pci.h
+++ b/include/linux/pci.h
@@ -342,7 +342,6 @@ struct pci_dev {
 	u16		pcie_flags_reg;	/* Cached PCIe Capabilities Register */
 	unsigned long	*dma_alias_mask;/* Mask of enabled devfn aliases */
 
-	struct pci_driver *driver;	/* Driver bound to this device */
 	u64		dma_mask;	/* Mask of the bits of bus address this
 					   device implements.  Normally this is
 					   0xffffffff.  You only need to change
@@ -887,7 +886,7 @@ struct pci_driver {
 };
 
 #define	to_pci_driver(drv) container_of(drv, struct pci_driver, driver)
-#define pci_driver_of_dev(pdev) ((pdev)->driver)
+#define pci_driver_of_dev(pdev) ((pdev)->dev.driver ? to_pci_driver((pdev)->dev.driver) : NULL)
 
 /**
  * PCI_DEVICE - macro used to describe a specific PCI device
-- 
2.30.2


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03 10:04 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 10:01 [PATCH v2 0/6] " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 10:01 ` [PATCH v2 4/6] PCI: Provide wrapper to access " Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 14:37   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-03 10:01 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] PCI: Adapt all code locations to not use struct pci_dev::driver directly Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-03 13:53   ` Boris Ostrovsky
2021-08-03 14:38   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-08-03 14:46   ` Ido Schimmel
2021-08-05 15:09   ` Andrew Donnellan
2021-08-03 10:01 ` Uwe Kleine-König [this message]
2021-08-05 23:42 ` [PATCH v2 0/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev's bound driver Bjorn Helgaas
2021-08-06  6:46   ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-06 21:24     ` Bjorn Helgaas
2021-08-07  9:26       ` Uwe Kleine-König
2021-08-09 18:14         ` Bjorn Helgaas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210803100150.1543597-7-u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --to=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=MPT-FusionLinux.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=ajd@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=fbarrat@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=fiona.trahe@intel.com \
    --cc=giovanni.cabiddu@intel.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=m@bues.ch \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathias.nyman@intel.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=oohall@gmail.com \
    --cc=oss-drivers@corigine.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qat-linux@intel.com \
    --cc=ruscur@russell.cc \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sathya.prakash@broadcom.com \
    --cc=simon.horman@corigine.com \
    --cc=sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com \
    --cc=tchornyi@marvell.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vkochan@marvell.com \
    --cc=wangzhou1@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=wojciech.ziemba@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zajec5@gmail.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 6/6] PCI: Drop duplicated tracking of a pci_dev'\''s bound driver' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).