LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Shannon Nelson <snelson@pensando.io>,
	Jacob Keller <jacob.e.keller@intel.com>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Tony Nguyen <anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com>,
	Tariq Toukan <tariqt@nvidia.com>,
	Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@nvidia.com>,
	Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org>, Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	drivers@pensando.io, Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com>,
	Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@nxp.com>, Karen Xie <kxie@chelsio.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org, linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v4] ethernet: fix PTP_1588_CLOCK dependencies
Date: Thu, 5 Aug 2021 16:32:58 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210805133258.zvhn5kznjt7taqyu@skbuf> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210805082253.3654591-1-arnd@kernel.org>

On Thu, Aug 05, 2021 at 10:13:57AM +0200, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/mv88e6xxx/Kconfig b/drivers/net/dsa/mv88e6xxx/Kconfig
> index 634a48e6616b..7a2445a34eb7 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/dsa/mv88e6xxx/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/net/dsa/mv88e6xxx/Kconfig
> @@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
>  config NET_DSA_MV88E6XXX
>  	tristate "Marvell 88E6xxx Ethernet switch fabric support"
>  	depends on NET_DSA
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	select IRQ_DOMAIN
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_EDSA
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_DSA
> diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/ocelot/Kconfig b/drivers/net/dsa/ocelot/Kconfig
> index 932b6b6fe817..9948544ba1c4 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/dsa/ocelot/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/net/dsa/ocelot/Kconfig
> @@ -5,6 +5,7 @@ config NET_DSA_MSCC_FELIX
>  	depends on NET_VENDOR_MICROSEMI
>  	depends on NET_VENDOR_FREESCALE
>  	depends on HAS_IOMEM
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	select MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_OCELOT_8021Q
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_OCELOT
> @@ -19,6 +20,7 @@ config NET_DSA_MSCC_SEVILLE
>  	depends on NET_DSA
>  	depends on NET_VENDOR_MICROSEMI
>  	depends on HAS_IOMEM
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	select MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_OCELOT_8021Q
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_OCELOT
> diff --git a/drivers/net/dsa/sja1105/Kconfig b/drivers/net/dsa/sja1105/Kconfig
> index b29d41e5e1e7..1291bba3f3b6 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/dsa/sja1105/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/net/dsa/sja1105/Kconfig
> @@ -2,6 +2,7 @@
>  config NET_DSA_SJA1105
>  tristate "NXP SJA1105 Ethernet switch family support"
>  	depends on NET_DSA && SPI
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	select NET_DSA_TAG_SJA1105
>  	select PCS_XPCS
>  	select PACKING
> diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/mscc/Kconfig b/drivers/net/ethernet/mscc/Kconfig
> index 2d3157e4d081..b07912434560 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/ethernet/mscc/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/mscc/Kconfig
> @@ -13,6 +13,7 @@ if NET_VENDOR_MICROSEMI
>  
>  # Users should depend on NET_SWITCHDEV, HAS_IOMEM, BRIDGE
>  config MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL

No, don't make the MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB depend on anything please,
since it is always "select"-ed, it shouldn't have dependencies, see
the comment above. If you want, add this to the comment: "Users should
depend on (...), PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL".

>  	select NET_DEVLINK
>  	select REGMAP_MMIO
>  	select PACKING
> @@ -24,6 +25,7 @@ config MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB
>  
>  config MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH
>  	tristate "Ocelot switch driver"
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	depends on BRIDGE || BRIDGE=n
>  	depends on NET_SWITCHDEV
>  	depends on HAS_IOMEM
> @@ -253,6 +254,7 @@ config NATIONAL_PHY
>  
>  config NXP_C45_TJA11XX_PHY
>  	tristate "NXP C45 TJA11XX PHYs"
> +	depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>  	help
>  	  Enable support for NXP C45 TJA11XX PHYs.
>  	  Currently supports only the TJA1103 PHY.

With that changed:

Reviewed-by: Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05 13:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05  8:13 Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-05 12:52 ` Julian Calaby
2021-08-05 13:15   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-05 13:32 ` Vladimir Oltean [this message]
2021-08-05 14:10   ` Arnd Bergmann

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210805133258.zvhn5kznjt7taqyu@skbuf \
    --to=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=drivers@pensando.io \
    --cc=ecree.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jacob.e.keller@intel.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kxie@chelsio.com \
    --cc=leon@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=richardcochran@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeedm@nvidia.com \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com \
    --cc=snelson@pensando.io \
    --cc=tariqt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=yangbo.lu@nxp.com \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next v4] ethernet: fix PTP_1588_CLOCK dependencies' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).