LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>,
	Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com, Zachary.Leaf@arm.com,
	Raphael Gault <raphael.gault@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Itaru Kitayama <itaru.kitayama@gmail.com>,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v9 1/3] arm64: perf: Add userspace counter access disable switch
Date: Fri,  6 Aug 2021 16:51:21 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210806225123.1958497-2-robh@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210806225123.1958497-1-robh@kernel.org>

Like x86, some users may want to disable userspace PMU counter
altogether. Add a sysctl 'perf_user_access' file to control userspace
counter access. The default is '0' which is disabled. Writing '1'
enables access.

Note that x86 also supports writing '2' to globally enable user access.
As there's not existing userspace support to worry about, this shouldn't
be necessary for Arm. It could be added later if the need arises.

Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
---
v9:
 - Use sysctl instead of sysfs attr
 - Default to disabled
v8:
 - New patch

---
 arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c | 17 +++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 17 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
index d07788dad388..74f77b68f5f0 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
@@ -286,6 +286,21 @@ static const struct attribute_group armv8_pmuv3_events_attr_group = {
 PMU_FORMAT_ATTR(event, "config:0-15");
 PMU_FORMAT_ATTR(long, "config1:0");
 
+static int sysctl_perf_user_access __read_mostly;
+
+static struct ctl_table armv8_pmu_sysctl_table[] = {
+	{
+		.procname       = "perf_user_access",
+		.data		= &sysctl_perf_user_access,
+		.maxlen		= sizeof(unsigned int),
+		.mode           = 0644,
+		.proc_handler	= proc_dointvec_minmax,
+		.extra1		= SYSCTL_ZERO,
+		.extra2		= SYSCTL_ONE,
+	},
+	{ }
+};
+
 static inline bool armv8pmu_event_is_64bit(struct perf_event *event)
 {
 	return event->attr.config1 & 0x1;
@@ -1136,6 +1151,8 @@ static int armv8_pmu_init(struct arm_pmu *cpu_pmu, char *name,
 	cpu_pmu->attr_groups[ARMPMU_ATTR_GROUP_CAPS] = caps ?
 			caps : &armv8_pmuv3_caps_attr_group;
 
+	register_sysctl("kernel", armv8_pmu_sysctl_table);
+
 	return 0;
 }
 
-- 
2.30.2


  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-06 22:51 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-06 22:51 [PATCH v9 0/3] arm64 userspace counter support Rob Herring
2021-08-06 22:51 ` Rob Herring [this message]
2021-08-24 15:26   ` [PATCH v9 1/3] arm64: perf: Add userspace counter access disable switch Will Deacon
2021-08-06 22:51 ` [PATCH v9 2/3] arm64: perf: Enable PMU counter userspace access for perf event Rob Herring
2021-08-24 15:27   ` Will Deacon
2021-08-24 21:58     ` Rob Herring
2021-08-25 19:59       ` Rob Herring
2021-08-06 22:51 ` [PATCH v9 3/3] Documentation: arm64: Document PMU counters access from userspace Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210806225123.1958497-2-robh@kernel.org \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=Zachary.Leaf@arm.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=itaru.kitayama@gmail.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=kan.liang@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=raphael.gault@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v9 1/3] arm64: perf: Add userspace counter access disable switch' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).