LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
To: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Riccardo Mancini <rickyman7@gmail.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	Li Huafei <lihuafei1@huawei.com>,
	coresight@lists.linaro.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Subject: [PATCH v1 0/3] perf: Support compat mode for AUX ring buffer
Date: Mon,  9 Aug 2021 19:27:24 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210809112727.596876-1-leo.yan@linaro.org> (raw)

For better organising and easier review, this patch series is extracted
from the patch set "perf: Refine barriers for AUX ring buffer" .  When
applying this patch series, it needs to be applied on the top of the
patch series [1].

To support the compat mode in perf tool, the patch 01 adds an new item
in "perf_env" to track if kernel is running in 64-bit mode.  This patch
is a preparation for later changes.

Patch 02 introduces compat variant functions for accessing AUX trace's
head and tail, these two functions are defined with weak attribute, so
they can be called when any architectures cannot provide 64-bit value
atomic accessing when perf is in compat mode.

Patch 03 supports compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} on Arm
platform.  For Arm platform with compat mode, the kernel runs in 64-bit
kernel mode and user space tool runs in 32-bit mode, it uses the
instructions "ldrd" and "strd" for 64-bit value atomicity.

This patch set have been tested on Arm64 Juno platform for the perf tool
is built with compiler arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc.

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/patchwork/cover/1473916/


Leo Yan (3):
  perf env: Track kernel 64-bit mode in environment
  perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}
  perf auxtrace arm: Support
    compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}

 tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c | 32 +++++++++++
 tools/perf/util/auxtrace.c          | 88 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++--
 tools/perf/util/auxtrace.h          | 22 +++++++-
 tools/perf/util/env.c               | 24 +++++++-
 tools/perf/util/env.h               |  3 +
 5 files changed, 161 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

-- 
2.25.1


             reply	other threads:[~2021-08-09 11:27 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 11:27 Leo Yan [this message]
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 1/3] perf env: Track kernel 64-bit mode in environment Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:11   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 2/3] perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:12   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-12  9:23   ` Adrian Hunter
2021-08-13 16:22   ` James Clark
2021-08-23  9:51     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 10:57       ` James Clark
2021-08-23 12:13         ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 16:00           ` James Clark
2021-08-24  2:13             ` Leo Yan
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 3/3] perf auxtrace arm: Support compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-23 12:23   ` James Clark
2021-08-23 13:30     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 13:39       ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-23 14:54         ` Leo Yan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210809112727.596876-1-leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --to=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=coresight@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=lihuafei1@huawei.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mike.leach@linaro.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rickyman7@gmail.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 0/3] perf: Support compat mode for AUX ring buffer' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).