LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
To: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>, kim.phillips@amd.com
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	Joao Martins <joao.m.martins@oracle.com>,
	Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>,
	Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH 0/3] perf report: Add support to print a textual representation of IBS raw sample data
Date: Tue, 17 Aug 2021 17:15:06 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210817221509.88391-1-kim.phillips@amd.com> (raw)

Hello Linux perf tools users and maintainers,

The first patch in this series prepares the perf tool to support
retrieving cpuid and pmu_mappings data when in report mode,
information that is needed to accurately decode IBS data.

The second patch adds a header file tools/arch/x86/include/asm/amd-ibs.h
from a separate kernel-side submittion [1].

The third patch allows the tool to print a textual representation
of the sample data recorded by IBS.

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210817221048.88063-9-kim.phillips@amd.com

Kim Phillips (3):
  perf env: Add perf_env__cpuid, perf_env__{nr_}pmu_mappings
  perf report: Add tools/arch/x86/include/asm/amd-ibs.h
  perf report: Add support to print a textual representation of IBS raw
    sample data

 tools/arch/x86/include/asm/amd-ibs.h | 132 ++++++++++++
 tools/perf/check-headers.sh          |   1 +
 tools/perf/util/Build                |   1 +
 tools/perf/util/amd-sample-raw.c     | 290 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 tools/perf/util/env.c                |  78 +++++++
 tools/perf/util/env.h                |   5 +
 tools/perf/util/sample-raw.c         |   8 +
 tools/perf/util/sample-raw.h         |   6 +-
 8 files changed, 520 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
 create mode 100644 tools/arch/x86/include/asm/amd-ibs.h
 create mode 100644 tools/perf/util/amd-sample-raw.c

Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Joao Martins <joao.m.martins@oracle.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Robert Richter <robert.richter@amd.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org

-- 
2.31.1



             reply	other threads:[~2021-08-17 22:15 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 12+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-17 22:15 Kim Phillips [this message]
2021-08-17 22:15 ` [PATCH 1/3] perf env: Add perf_env__cpuid, perf_env__{nr_}pmu_mappings Kim Phillips
2021-08-17 22:15 ` [PATCH 2/3] perf report: Add tools/arch/x86/include/asm/amd-ibs.h Kim Phillips
2021-08-17 22:15 ` [PATCH 3/3] perf report: Add support to print a textual representation of IBS raw sample data Kim Phillips
2021-09-09 21:58 ` [PATCH 0/3] " Kim Phillips
2021-09-10 13:47   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 14:08     ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 14:11       ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 14:17         ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 19:48           ` Another bug: " Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 20:58             ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-09-10 21:40               ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210817221509.88391-1-kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --to=kim.phillips@amd.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=acme@redhat.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=joao.m.martins@oracle.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=konrad.wilk@oracle.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpetlan@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=robert.richter@amd.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/3] perf report: Add support to print a textual representation of IBS raw sample data' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).