LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
To: Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>,
	Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Subject: [PATCH v3 5/8] drm/bridge: ps8640: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers
Date: Mon, 23 Aug 2021 10:47:20 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210823084723.1493908-6-maxime@cerno.tech> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210823084723.1493908-1-maxime@cerno.tech>

Let's switch to the new devm MIPI-DSI function to register and attach
our secondary device. This also avoids leaking the device on removal.

Signed-off-by: Maxime Ripard <maxime@cerno.tech>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8640.c | 10 +++-------
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8640.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8640.c
index 7bd0affa057a..794c9516b05d 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8640.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/parade-ps8640.c
@@ -241,7 +241,7 @@ static int ps8640_bridge_attach(struct drm_bridge *bridge,
 	if (!host)
 		return -ENODEV;
 
-	dsi = mipi_dsi_device_register_full(host, &info);
+	dsi = devm_mipi_dsi_device_register_full(dev, host, &info);
 	if (IS_ERR(dsi)) {
 		dev_err(dev, "failed to create dsi device\n");
 		ret = PTR_ERR(dsi);
@@ -255,17 +255,13 @@ static int ps8640_bridge_attach(struct drm_bridge *bridge,
 			  MIPI_DSI_MODE_VIDEO_SYNC_PULSE;
 	dsi->format = MIPI_DSI_FMT_RGB888;
 	dsi->lanes = DP_NUM_LANES;
-	ret = mipi_dsi_attach(dsi);
+	ret = devm_mipi_dsi_attach(dev, dsi);
 	if (ret)
-		goto err_dsi_attach;
+		return ret;
 
 	/* Attach the panel-bridge to the dsi bridge */
 	return drm_bridge_attach(bridge->encoder, ps_bridge->panel_bridge,
 				 &ps_bridge->bridge, flags);
-
-err_dsi_attach:
-	mipi_dsi_device_unregister(dsi);
-	return ret;
 }
 
 static struct edid *ps8640_bridge_get_edid(struct drm_bridge *bridge,
-- 
2.31.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-23  8:47 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-23  8:47 [PATCH v3 0/8] drm/bridge: Make panel and bridge probe order consistent Maxime Ripard
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 1/8] drm/bridge: Add documentation sections Maxime Ripard
2021-08-24  8:06   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 2/8] drm/bridge: Document the probe issue with MIPI-DSI bridges Maxime Ripard
2021-08-23 16:32   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-08-26  8:56     ` Maxime Ripard
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 3/8] drm/mipi-dsi: Create devm device registration Maxime Ripard
2021-08-24 13:03   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 4/8] drm/mipi-dsi: Create devm device attachment Maxime Ripard
2021-08-24 13:04   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-08-23  8:47 ` Maxime Ripard [this message]
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 6/8] drm/bridge: ps8640: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard
2021-08-24 13:14   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 7/8] drm/bridge: sn65dsi83: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers Maxime Ripard
2021-08-23  8:47 ` [PATCH v3 8/8] drm/bridge: sn65dsi83: Register and attach our DSI device at probe Maxime Ripard

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210823084723.1493908-6-maxime@cerno.tech \
    --to=maxime@cerno.tech \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@intel.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=tzimmermann@suse.de \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 5/8] drm/bridge: ps8640: Switch to devm MIPI-DSI helpers' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).