LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
To: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Riccardo Mancini <rickyman7@gmail.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	Li Huafei <lihuafei1@huawei.com>,
	coresight@lists.linaro.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 2/3] perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}
Date: Mon, 23 Aug 2021 20:13:48 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210823121348.GE100516@leoy-ThinkPad-X240s> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <319ee11a-06f7-abde-6495-d2175928b9fe@arm.com>

On Mon, Aug 23, 2021 at 11:57:52AM +0100, James Clark wrote:

[...]

> Ok thanks for the explanation, that makes sense now. I do have one other
> point about the documentation for the function:

Welcome!

> > + * When update the AUX tail and detects any carrying in the high 32 bits, it
> > + * means there have two store operations in user space and it cannot promise
> > + * the atomicity for 64-bit write, so return '-1' in this case to tell the
> > + * caller an overflow error has happened.
> > + */
> 
> I couldn't see how it can ever return -1, it seems like it would loop forever
> until it reads the correct value.

I use this chunk comment to address the function
compat_auxtrace_mmap__write_tail():

+int __weak compat_auxtrace_mmap__write_tail(struct auxtrace_mmap *mm, u64 tail)
+{
+	struct perf_event_mmap_page *pc = mm->userpg;
+	u64 mask = (u64)(UINT32_MAX) << 32;
+
+	if (tail & mask)
+		return -1;
+
+	/* Ensure all reads are done before we write the tail out */
+	smp_mb();
+	WRITE_ONCE(pc->aux_tail, tail);
+	return 0;
+}

Please let me know if this is okay or not?  Otherwise, if you think
the format can cause confusion, I'd like to split the comments into
two sections, one section for reading AUX head and another is for
writing AUX tail.

Thanks,
Leo

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-23 12:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 11:27 [PATCH v1 0/3] perf: Support compat mode for AUX ring buffer Leo Yan
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 1/3] perf env: Track kernel 64-bit mode in environment Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:11   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 2/3] perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:12   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-12  9:23   ` Adrian Hunter
2021-08-13 16:22   ` James Clark
2021-08-23  9:51     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 10:57       ` James Clark
2021-08-23 12:13         ` Leo Yan [this message]
2021-08-23 16:00           ` James Clark
2021-08-24  2:13             ` Leo Yan
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 3/3] perf auxtrace arm: Support compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-23 12:23   ` James Clark
2021-08-23 13:30     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 13:39       ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-23 14:54         ` Leo Yan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210823121348.GE100516@leoy-ThinkPad-X240s \
    --to=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=coresight@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=james.clark@arm.com \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=lihuafei1@huawei.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mike.leach@linaro.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rickyman7@gmail.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 2/3] perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).