LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Colin Foster <colin.foster@in-advantage.com>
To: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	Vladimir Oltean <vladimir.oltean@nxp.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 net-next 1/3] net: mdio: mscc-miim: convert to a regmap implementation
Date: Sat, 20 Nov 2021 13:23:24 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20211120212324.GA2497840@euler> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20211119195610.72da54d1@kicinski-fedora-pc1c0hjn.dhcp.thefacebook.com>

Hi Jakub,

Kernel Test Robot caught this as well. I'll fix in v2. Thanks for the
feedback!

On Fri, Nov 19, 2021 at 07:56:10PM -0800, Jakub Kicinski wrote:
> On Fri, 19 Nov 2021 13:39:16 -0800 Colin Foster wrote:
> > Utilize regmap instead of __iomem to perform indirect mdio access. This
> > will allow for custom regmaps to be used by way of the mscc_miim_setup
> > function.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Colin Foster <colin.foster@in-advantage.com>
> 
> clang says:
> 
> drivers/net/mdio/mdio-mscc-miim.c:228:30: warning: variable 'bus' is uninitialized when used here [-Wuninitialized]
>         mscc_miim_setup(&pdev->dev, bus, mii_regmap, phy_regmap);
> 
> drivers/net/mdio/mdio-mscc-miim.c:216:13: warning: variable 'dev' is uninitialized when used here [-Wuninitialized]
>         if (IS_ERR(dev->phy_regs)) {
>                    ^~~

  reply	other threads:[~2021-11-20 21:25 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-11-19 21:39 [PATCH v1 net-next 0/3] update seville to use shared mdio driver Colin Foster
2021-11-19 21:39 ` [PATCH v1 net-next 1/3] net: mdio: mscc-miim: convert to a regmap implementation Colin Foster
2021-11-20  3:56   ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-11-20 21:23     ` Colin Foster [this message]
2021-11-20 15:09   ` Andrew Lunn
2021-11-20 21:25     ` Colin Foster
2021-11-21 17:32   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-11-19 21:39 ` [PATCH v1 net-next 2/3] net: dsa: ocelot: seville: utilize of_mdiobus_register Colin Foster
2021-11-19 21:39 ` [PATCH v1 net-next 3/3] net: dsa: ocelot: felix: switch to mdio-mscc-miim driver for indirect mdio access Colin Foster
2021-11-21 17:44   ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-11-22 17:21     ` Colin Foster

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20211120212324.GA2497840@euler \
    --to=colin.foster@in-advantage.com \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=vladimir.oltean@nxp.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 net-next 1/3] net: mdio: mscc-miim: convert to a regmap implementation' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).