LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@google.com>,
	Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>,
	Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@arm.com>,
	Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com>,
	Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@arm.com>,
	Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com>,
	Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
Subject: [PATCH v2 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c
Date: Thu,  3 May 2018 16:15:42 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <24ab244adc196fda8536cf2efb59cc654e1c234b.1525356769.git.andreyknvl@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1525356769.git.andreyknvl@google.com>
In-Reply-To: <cover.1525356769.git.andreyknvl@google.com>

mm/gup.c provides a kernel interface that accepts user addresses and
manipulates user pages directly (for example get_user_pages, that is used
by the futex syscall). Here we also need to handle the case of tagged user
pointers.

Add untagging to gup.c functions that use user pointers for vma lookup.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
---
 mm/gup.c | 4 ++++
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/mm/gup.c b/mm/gup.c
index 76af4cfeaf68..65a9566c96d3 100644
--- a/mm/gup.c
+++ b/mm/gup.c
@@ -647,6 +647,8 @@ static long __get_user_pages(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
 	if (!nr_pages)
 		return 0;
 
+	start = untagged_addr(start);
+
 	VM_BUG_ON(!!pages != !!(gup_flags & FOLL_GET));
 
 	/*
@@ -801,6 +803,8 @@ int fixup_user_fault(struct task_struct *tsk, struct mm_struct *mm,
 	struct vm_area_struct *vma;
 	int ret, major = 0;
 
+	address = untagged_addr(address);
+
 	if (unlocked)
 		fault_flags |= FAULT_FLAG_ALLOW_RETRY;
 
-- 
2.17.0.441.gb46fe60e1d-goog

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-05-03 14:15 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-05-03 14:15 [PATCH v2 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:15 ` [PATCH v2 1/6] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:15 ` [PATCH v2 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:15 ` [PATCH v2 3/6] arm64: untag user addresses in access_ok and __uaccess_mask_ptr Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:15 ` Andrey Konovalov [this message]
2018-05-03 14:15 ` [PATCH v2 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:15 ` [PATCH v2 6/6] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt Andrey Konovalov

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=24ab244adc196fda8536cf2efb59cc654e1c234b.1525356769.git.andreyknvl@google.com \
    --to=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=Jacob.Bramley@arm.com \
    --cc=Lee.Smith@arm.com \
    --cc=Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com \
    --cc=Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=bart.vanassche@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=cpandya@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eugenis@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kcc@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).