LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>
To: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Jin Yao" <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	<linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, <eranian@google.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH] perf test: Workload test of metric and metricgroups
Date: Thu, 16 Sep 2021 08:34:15 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <2ec8cbf6-cbc1-0dc2-0025-08da764f1ade@huawei.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAP-5=fUf5zK-GEjzqK--6G_R=nj4qERCzo2+muQhKWwreWBCww@mail.gmail.com>

>>> --- /dev/null
>>> +++ b/tools/perf/tests/shell/stat_all_metrics.sh
>>> @@ -0,0 +1,16 @@
>>> +#!/bin/sh
>>> +# perf all metrics test
>>> +# SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
>>> +
>>> +set -e
>>> +
>>> +for m in `perf list --raw-dump metrics`; do
>>> +  echo "Testing $m"
>>> +  result=$(perf stat -M "$m" perf bench internals synthesize)
>> good test, but takes forever.. running 'true' should be enough for the test?
>>
>> jirka
> Agreed/done:
> https://lore.kernel.org/linux-perf-users/20210916060525.1890638-1-irogers@google.com/T/#u
> There is an issue that I see a lot of "<not counted>" for metricgroups
> like this. 

https://lore.kernel.org/linux-perf-users/CAP-5=fVERioMuK=JgKr1QWXKvU0Y31efQjxh7hX32ifL9V+_EA@mail.gmail.com/

Same issue, right?

Thanks,
John

> Note, the metricgroups test is also failing on my skylake
> as I hit the bug fixed in:
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210819054707.1057819-1-irogers@google.com/


      reply	other threads:[~2021-09-16  7:30 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-19  5:56 Ian Rogers
2021-08-31 18:46 ` Jiri Olsa
2021-09-16  6:11   ` Ian Rogers
2021-09-16  7:34     ` John Garry [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=2ec8cbf6-cbc1-0dc2-0025-08da764f1ade@huawei.com \
    --to=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=eranian@google.com \
    --cc=irogers@google.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [RFC PATCH] perf test: Workload test of metric and metricgroups' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).