LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@google.com>,
	Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>,
	Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@arm.com>,
	Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com>,
	Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@arm.com>,
	Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com>
Subject: [PATCH 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2018 20:53:11 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <3001f7c75f1f99b4c7b789cf91da06678df3435e.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com>
In-Reply-To: <cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com>

To allow arm64 syscalls accept tagged pointers from userspace, we must
untag them when they are passed to the kernel. Since untagging is done in
generic parts of the kernel (like the mm subsystem), the untagged_addr
macro should be defined for all architectures.

Define it as a noop for other architectures besides arm64.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
---
 include/linux/uaccess.h | 4 ++++
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/uaccess.h b/include/linux/uaccess.h
index efe79c1cdd47..c045b4eff95e 100644
--- a/include/linux/uaccess.h
+++ b/include/linux/uaccess.h
@@ -13,6 +13,10 @@
 
 #include <asm/uaccess.h>
 
+#ifndef untagged_addr
+#define untagged_addr(addr) addr
+#endif
+
 /*
  * Architectures should provide two primitives (raw_copy_{to,from}_user())
  * and get rid of their private instances of copy_{to,from}_user() and
-- 
2.17.0.484.g0c8726318c-goog

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-18 18:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-18 18:53 [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 1/6] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` Andrey Konovalov [this message]
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 3/6] arm64: untag user addresses in copy_from_user and others Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 15:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 15:29     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 14:38     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-02 15:36       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-02 17:25         ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:09           ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 15:24             ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-03 16:51               ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-08 15:11           ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-11 12:36             ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 6/6] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-19  9:33 ` [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-04-25 14:45   ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:56     ` Catalin Marinas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=3001f7c75f1f99b4c7b789cf91da06678df3435e.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com \
    --to=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=Jacob.Bramley@arm.com \
    --cc=Lee.Smith@arm.com \
    --cc=Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com \
    --cc=Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=bart.vanassche@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eugenis@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kcc@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).