LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Zachary Amsden <zach@vmware.com>
To: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Cc: Virtualization Mailing List <virtualization@lists.osdl.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Dan Hecht <dhecht@vmware.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Akinobu Mita <mita@miraclelinux.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>,
	john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC] Change softlockup watchdog to ignore stolen time
Date: Thu, 22 Mar 2007 16:51:51 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <460324A7.3010604@vmware.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <460311FA.6070400@goop.org>

Jeremy Fitzhardinge wrote:
> The softlockup watchdog is currently a nuisance in a virtual machine,
> since the whole system could have the CPU stolen from it for a long
> period of time.  While it would be unlikely for a guest domain to be
> denied timer interrupts for over 10s, it could happen and any softlockup
> message would be completely spurious.
>   

No, it is not unlikely.  4-way SMP VMs idling exhibit this behavior with 
NO_HZ or NO_IDLE_HZ because they get quiet enough to schedule nothing on 
the APs.

And that can happen on native hardware as well.

> Earlier I proposed that sched_clock() return time in unstolen
> nanoseconds, which is how Xen and VMI currently implement it.  If the
> softlockup watchdog uses sched_clock() to measure time, it would
> automatically ignore stolen time, and therefore only report when the
> guest itself locked up.  When running native, sched_clock() returns
> real-time nanoseconds, so the behaviour would be unchanged.
>
> Does this seem sound?
>
> Also, softlockup.c's use of jiffies seems archaic now.  Should it be
> converted to use timers?  Mightn't it report lockups just because there
> was no timer event?
>   

This looks good to me, as a first order approximation.  But on native 
hardware, with NO_HZ, this is just broken to begin with.  Perhaps we 
should make SOFTLOCKUP depend on !NO_HZ.

Zach

  parent reply	other threads:[~2007-03-22 23:51 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2007-03-22 23:32 Jeremy Fitzhardinge
2007-03-23  0:14 ` Jeremy Fitzhardinge
2007-03-23  0:51 ` Zachary Amsden [this message]
2007-03-23  0:11   ` Jeremy Fitzhardinge

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=460324A7.3010604@vmware.com \
    --to=zach@vmware.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=chrisw@sous-sol.org \
    --cc=dhecht@vmware.com \
    --cc=jeremy@goop.org \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=johnstul@us.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@elte.hu \
    --cc=mita@miraclelinux.com \
    --cc=rusty@rustcorp.com.au \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.osdl.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH RFC] Change softlockup watchdog to ignore stolen time' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).