LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
To: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com>
Cc: Ian Campbell <ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk>,
	Kumar Gala <galak@codeaurora.org>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Pawel Moll <pawel.moll@arm.com>, Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Andy Gross <agross@codeaurora.org>,
	Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@samsung.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <k.kozlowski@samsung.com>,
	Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org>,
	"devicetree@vger.kernel.org" <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org" <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device
Date: Tue, 03 Mar 2015 16:01:43 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <54F64B67.9060608@codeaurora.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20150303235209.GG21293@sirena.org.uk>

On 03/03/15 15:52, Mark Brown wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 03, 2015 at 02:32:35PM -0800, Bjorn Andersson wrote:
>> On Tue 03 Mar 14:09 PST 2015, Stephen Boyd wrote:
>>> How does this work for the case where we may not want to add all the
>>> regulators that a PMIC supports. I'm mostly thinking about the case
>>> where we want to use the pm8xxx-regulator driver for a few regulators
>>> and so we omit them from the DT for the RPM regulators.
>> An empty or non-existing regulator of_node will still be registered, but
>> without REGULATOR_CHANGE_STATUS nor REGULATOR_CHANGE_VOLTAGE; so any
>> operation on this regulator will fail with an -EPERM.
> ...but of course we'd never try any operations on it anyway as there
> would be no consumers.

Yes sounds fine. The only concern is that we're probably wasting memory
with things that won't ever "match" something in DT.

-- 
Qualcomm Innovation Center, Inc. is a member of Code Aurora Forum,
a Linux Foundation Collaborative Project


  reply	other threads:[~2015-03-04  0:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-03  4:25 [PATCH 0/4] Refactor Qualcomm RPM regulator to single platform_device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 1/4] mfd: devicetree: bindings: Add Qualcomm RPM regulator subnodes Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:47   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:02     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:33       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 18:53   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 21:54     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:02       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:17         ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:25           ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 2/4] regulator: core: Expose init_data to of_parse_cb Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 12:50   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:15     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:42       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 3/4] regulator: qcom: Refactor of-parsing code Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 14:13   ` Mark Brown
2015-03-03 16:26     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 18:56   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:07     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03  4:25 ` [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 22:09   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-03 22:32     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-03 23:52       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04  0:01         ` Stephen Boyd [this message]
2015-03-04  0:09           ` Mark Brown
2015-03-04 19:35   ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-04 23:51     ` Bjorn Andersson
2015-03-05  0:56       ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  0:30     ` Mark Brown
2015-03-05  1:46       ` Stephen Boyd
2015-03-05 10:38         ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=54F64B67.9060608@codeaurora.org \
    --to=sboyd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=agross@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@sonymobile.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cw00.choi@samsung.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=galak@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=ijc+devicetree@hellion.org.uk \
    --cc=k.kozlowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=pawel.moll@arm.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=srinivas.kandagatla@linaro.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/4] regulator: qcom: Rework to single platform device' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).