LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
To: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Li Huafei <lihuafei1@huawei.com>,
	Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>,
	Riccardo Mancini <rickyman7@gmail.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	coresight@lists.linaro.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 3/3] perf auxtrace arm: Support compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}
Date: Mon, 23 Aug 2021 13:23:42 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <6ce4057a-57cf-501d-6449-2069cd00ba57@arm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210809112727.596876-4-leo.yan@linaro.org>



On 09/08/2021 12:27, Leo Yan wrote:
> When the tool runs with compat mode on Arm platform, the kernel is in
> 64-bit mode and user space is in 32-bit mode; the user space can use
> instructions "ldrd" and "strd" for 64-bit value atomicity.
> 
> This patch adds compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} for arm
> building, it uses "ldrd" and "strd" instructions to ensure accessing
> atomicity for aux head and tail.  The file arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c is
> built for arm and arm64 building, these two functions are not needed for
> arm64, so check the compiler macro "__arm__" to only include them for
> arm building.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
> ---
>  tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c | 32 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 32 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c b/tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c
> index b187bddbd01a..c7c7ec0812d5 100644
> --- a/tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c
> +++ b/tools/perf/arch/arm/util/auxtrace.c
> @@ -107,3 +107,35 @@ struct auxtrace_record
>  	*err = 0;
>  	return NULL;
>  }
> +
> +#if defined(__arm__)
> +u64 compat_auxtrace_mmap__read_head(struct auxtrace_mmap *mm)
> +{
> +	struct perf_event_mmap_page *pc = mm->userpg;
> +	u64 result;
> +
> +	__asm__ __volatile__(
> +"	ldrd    %0, %H0, [%1]"
> +	: "=&r" (result)
> +	: "r" (&pc->aux_head), "Qo" (pc->aux_head)
> +	);
> +
> +	return result;
> +}

Hi Leo,

I see that this is a duplicate of the atomic read in arch/arm/include/asm/atomic.h

For x86, it's possible to include tools/include/asm/atomic.h, but that doesn't
include arch/arm/include/asm/atomic.h and there are some other #ifdefs that might
make it not so easy for Arm. Just wondering if you considered trying to include the
existing one? Or decided that it was easier to duplicate it?

Other than that, I have tested that the change works with a 32bit build with snapshot
and normal mode.

Reviewed by: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
Tested by: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
 
> +
> +int compat_auxtrace_mmap__write_tail(struct auxtrace_mmap *mm, u64 tail)
> +{
> +	struct perf_event_mmap_page *pc = mm->userpg;
> +
> +	/* Ensure all reads are done before we write the tail out */
> +	smp_mb();
> +
> +	__asm__ __volatile__(
> +"	strd    %2, %H2, [%1]"
> +	: "=Qo" (pc->aux_tail)
> +	: "r" (&pc->aux_tail), "r" (tail)
> +	);
> +
> +	return 0;
> +}
> +#endif
> 

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-23 12:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-09 11:27 [PATCH v1 0/3] perf: Support compat mode for AUX ring buffer Leo Yan
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 1/3] perf env: Track kernel 64-bit mode in environment Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:11   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 2/3] perf auxtrace: Add compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-09 20:12   ` Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
2021-08-12  9:23   ` Adrian Hunter
2021-08-13 16:22   ` James Clark
2021-08-23  9:51     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 10:57       ` James Clark
2021-08-23 12:13         ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 16:00           ` James Clark
2021-08-24  2:13             ` Leo Yan
2021-08-09 11:27 ` [PATCH v1 3/3] perf auxtrace arm: Support compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail} Leo Yan
2021-08-23 12:23   ` James Clark [this message]
2021-08-23 13:30     ` Leo Yan
2021-08-23 13:39       ` Russell King (Oracle)
2021-08-23 14:54         ` Leo Yan

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=6ce4057a-57cf-501d-6449-2069cd00ba57@arm.com \
    --to=james.clark@arm.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=ak@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=coresight@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=leo.yan@linaro.org \
    --cc=lihuafei1@huawei.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-perf-users@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mathieu.poirier@linaro.org \
    --cc=mike.leach@linaro.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rickyman7@gmail.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=yao.jin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 3/3] perf auxtrace arm: Support compat_auxtrace_mmap__{read_head|write_tail}' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).