LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jerome Oufella <jerome.oufella@savoirfairelinux.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: martinwguy <martinwguy@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Hartley Sweeten <hsweeten@visionengravers.com>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com>,
	SoC Team <soc@kernel.org>,
	Nikita Shubin <nikita.shubin@maquefel.me>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Hubert Feurstein <hubert.feurstein@contec.at>,
	Lukasz Majewski <lukma@denx.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support
Date: Tue, 3 Aug 2021 11:52:09 -0400 (EDT)	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <817752520.64672.1628005929651.JavaMail.zimbra@savoirfairelinux.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a2z_xxpz9hAYoBx5=bS81V=TkjEU6WHNhPi1UhQ3UScfw@mail.gmail.com>

On Aug 3, 2021, at 7:58 AM, Arnd Bergmann arnd@kernel.org wrote:

> On Tue, Aug 3, 2021 at 1:41 PM Martin Guy <martinwguy@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>> I forward opinion from people currently producing and supporting EP93XX boards:
> 
> Thanks a lot for bringing them in. I definitely don't want to remove support for
> something that is actively being used, and we don't have to merge the patch
> if they currently rely on MaverickCrunch on older platforms.
> 
> It does sound however like Jerome's customers are using a normal (softfloat)
> Linus distro on EP93xx, rather than one using the original MaverickCrunch
> FPU instructions. There are no plans to discontinue EP93xx support, there
> is actually a good amount of recent work going into updating the platform.
> 
> Jerome, please let me know if I understood you correctly here. If your
> customers do rely on MaverickCrunch support in user space, I would
> leave that in the kernel for as long as ep93xx itself is supported, and instead
> require building support with the GNU assembler to avoid having to
> add support to the clang integrated assembler. If you don't know of anyone
> using MaverickCrunch, I would go ahead with my patch to remove kernel
> support.
> 
>      Arnd

Arnd,

You are correct on assuming usage of softfloat toolchains and not
using the MaverickCrunch unit. AFAIK, I am not aware of active users
of this FPU on recent setups.

 Jerome

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03 15:59 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210802141245.1146772-1-arnd@kernel.org>
2021-08-02 15:45 ` Martin Guy
2021-08-03 11:40   ` Martin Guy
     [not found]     ` <CAK8P3a2z_xxpz9hAYoBx5=bS81V=TkjEU6WHNhPi1UhQ3UScfw@mail.gmail.com>
2021-08-03 15:52       ` Jerome Oufella [this message]
2021-08-03 12:12   ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=817752520.64672.1628005929651.JavaMail.zimbra@savoirfairelinux.com \
    --to=jerome.oufella@savoirfairelinux.com \
    --cc=alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=hsweeten@visionengravers.com \
    --cc=hubert.feurstein@contec.at \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukma@denx.de \
    --cc=martinwguy@gmail.com \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=nikita.shubin@maquefel.me \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=soc@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).