LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@google.com>,
	Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>,
	Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@arm.com>,
	Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com>,
	Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@arm.com>,
	Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com>
Subject: [PATCH 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user
Date: Wed, 18 Apr 2018 20:53:14 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <82ccccd82c350f9243fc4e1d377cdad9bf23809c.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com>
In-Reply-To: <cover.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com>

strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user accept user addresses as arguments, and
do not go through the same path as copy_from_user and others, so here we
need to separately handle the case of tagged user addresses as well.

Untag user pointers passed to these functions.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
---
 lib/strncpy_from_user.c | 2 ++
 lib/strnlen_user.c      | 2 ++
 2 files changed, 4 insertions(+)

diff --git a/lib/strncpy_from_user.c b/lib/strncpy_from_user.c
index b53e1b5d80f4..97467cd2bc59 100644
--- a/lib/strncpy_from_user.c
+++ b/lib/strncpy_from_user.c
@@ -106,6 +106,8 @@ long strncpy_from_user(char *dst, const char __user *src, long count)
 	if (unlikely(count <= 0))
 		return 0;
 
+	src = untagged_addr(src);
+
 	max_addr = user_addr_max();
 	src_addr = (unsigned long)src;
 	if (likely(src_addr < max_addr)) {
diff --git a/lib/strnlen_user.c b/lib/strnlen_user.c
index 60d0bbda8f5e..8b5f56466e00 100644
--- a/lib/strnlen_user.c
+++ b/lib/strnlen_user.c
@@ -108,6 +108,8 @@ long strnlen_user(const char __user *str, long count)
 	if (unlikely(count <= 0))
 		return 0;
 
+	str = untagged_addr(str);
+
 	max_addr = user_addr_max();
 	src_addr = (unsigned long)str;
 	if (likely(src_addr < max_addr)) {
-- 
2.17.0.484.g0c8726318c-goog

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-18 18:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-18 18:53 [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 1/6] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 3/6] arm64: untag user addresses in copy_from_user and others Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 15:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 15:29     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 14:38     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-02 15:36       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-02 17:25         ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:09           ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 15:24             ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-03 16:51               ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-08 15:11           ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-11 12:36             ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` Andrey Konovalov [this message]
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 6/6] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-19  9:33 ` [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-04-25 14:45   ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:56     ` Catalin Marinas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=82ccccd82c350f9243fc4e1d377cdad9bf23809c.1524077494.git.andreyknvl@google.com \
    --to=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=Jacob.Bramley@arm.com \
    --cc=Lee.Smith@arm.com \
    --cc=Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com \
    --cc=Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=bart.vanassche@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eugenis@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kcc@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).