LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jordan Justen <jordan.l.justen@intel.com>
To: Ramalingam C <ramalingam.c@intel.com>,
	Robert Beckett <bob.beckett@collabora.com>
Cc: "Jani Nikula" <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	"Joonas Lahtinen" <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rodrigo Vivi" <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	"Tvrtko Ursulin" <tvrtko.ursulin@linux.intel.com>,
	"David Airlie" <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	"Matthew Auld" <matthew.auld@intel.com>,
	"Thomas Hellström" <thomas.hellstrom@linux.intel.com>,
	"Simon Ser" <contact@emersion.fr>,
	"Pekka Paalanen" <ppaalanen@gmail.com>,
	"Kenneth Graunke" <kenneth@whitecape.org>,
	mesa-dev@lists.freedesktop.org, "Tony Ye" <tony.ye@intel.com>,
	"Slawomir Milczarek" <slawomir.milczarek@intel.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v8 5/5] drm/i915/uapi: document behaviour for DG2 64K support
Date: Fri, 18 Feb 2022 11:42:23 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <875ypcneqo.fsf@jljusten-skl> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20220218185540.GA7762@intel.com>

Ramalingam C <ramalingam.c@intel.com> writes:

> On 2022-02-18 at 18:06:00 +0000, Robert Beckett wrote:
>> 
>> If desired, we can make the wording clearer, maybe something like:
>> 
>> "To keep things simple for userland, we mandate that any GTT mappings
>> must be aligned to 2MB. The kernel will internally pad them out to the next
>> 2MB boundary"
>
> Added the extra information in next version @
> https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/475166/?series=100419&rev=1
>
> Jordan, hope this explanation clears your doubt.

Ok. It sounds like what we are doing in Mesa matches what is required by
hardware and the kernel. Thanks.

-Jordan

      reply	other threads:[~2022-02-18 19:42 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20220208203419.1094362-1-bob.beckett@collabora.com>
2022-02-08 20:34 ` [PATCH v8 1/5] drm/i915: add needs_compact_pt flag Robert Beckett
2022-02-08 20:34 ` [PATCH v8 2/5] drm/i915: enforce min GTT alignment for discrete cards Robert Beckett
2022-02-08 20:34 ` [PATCH v8 3/5] drm/i915: support 64K GTT pages " Robert Beckett
2022-02-08 20:34 ` [PATCH v8 4/5] drm/i915: add gtt misalignment test Robert Beckett
2022-02-08 20:34 ` [PATCH v8 5/5] drm/i915/uapi: document behaviour for DG2 64K support Robert Beckett
2022-02-18  4:57   ` Jordan Justen
2022-02-18 13:47     ` Ramalingam C
2022-02-18 18:06       ` Robert Beckett
2022-02-18 18:55         ` Ramalingam C
2022-02-18 19:42           ` Jordan Justen [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=875ypcneqo.fsf@jljusten-skl \
    --to=jordan.l.justen@intel.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=bob.beckett@collabora.com \
    --cc=contact@emersion.fr \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kenneth@whitecape.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthew.auld@intel.com \
    --cc=mesa-dev@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=ppaalanen@gmail.com \
    --cc=ramalingam.c@intel.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=slawomir.milczarek@intel.com \
    --cc=thomas.hellstrom@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tony.ye@intel.com \
    --cc=tvrtko.ursulin@linux.intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v8 5/5] drm/i915/uapi: document behaviour for DG2 64K support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).