LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Toke Høiland-Jørgensen" <toke@redhat.com>
To: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>,
	Saeed Mahameed <saeed@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Lukasz Czapnik <lukasz.czapnik@intel.com>,
	Marcin Kubiak <marcin.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Kubiak <michal.kubiak@intel.com>,
	Michal Swiatkowski <michal.swiatkowski@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Netanel Belgazal <netanel@amazon.com>,
	Arthur Kiyanovski <akiyano@amazon.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Saeed Bishara <saeedb@amazon.com>,
	Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Jesper Dangaard Brouer <hawk@kernel.org>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>, KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	Shay Agroskin <shayagr@amazon.com>,
	Sameeh Jubran <sameehj@amazon.com>,
	Alexander Duyck <alexanderduyck@fb.com>,
	Danielle Ratson <danieller@nvidia.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>, Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vladyslav Tarasiuk <vladyslavt@nvidia.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jian Shen <shenjian15@huawei.com>,
	Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@gmail.com>, Dan Murphy <dmurphy@ti.com>,
	Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@nxp.com>, Michal Kubecek <mkubecek@suse.cz>,
	Zheng Yongjun <zhengyongjun3@huawei.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	YueHaibing <yuehaibing@huawei.com>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	Maciej Fijalkowski <maciej.fijalkowski@intel.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org, bpf@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics
Date: Mon, 08 Nov 2021 12:37:54 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <87v912ri7h.fsf@toke.dk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20211105164453.29102-1-alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>

Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com> writes:

> From: Alexander Lobakin <alexandr.lobakin@intel.com>
> Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2021 11:23:23 +0200
>
>> From: Saeed Mahameed <saeed@kernel.org>
>> Date: Tue, 03 Aug 2021 16:57:22 -0700
>> 
>> [ snip ]
>> 
>> > XDP is going to always be eBPF based ! why not just report such stats
>> > to a special BPF_MAP ? BPF stack can collect the stats from the driver
>> > and report them to this special MAP upon user request.
>> 
>> I really dig this idea now. How do you see it?
>> <ifindex:channel:stat_id> as a key and its value as a value or ...?
>
> Ideas, suggestions, anyone?

I don't like the idea of putting statistics in a map instead of the
regular statistics counters. Sure, for bespoke things people want to put
into their XDP programs, use a map, but for regular packet/byte
counters, update the regular counters so XDP isn't "invisible".

As Jesper pointed out, batching the updates so the global counters are
only updated once per NAPI cycle is the way to avoid a huge performance
overhead of this...

-Toke


  reply	other threads:[~2021-11-08 11:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 45+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-03 16:36 [PATCH net-next 00/21] ethtool, stats: introduce and use standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 01/21] ethtool, stats: use a shorthand pointer in stats_prepare_data() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 02/21] ethtool, stats: add compile-time checks for standard stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 20:49   ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-03 23:57     ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-04 12:36       ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 15:53         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 16:57           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-05 11:18             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-05 13:31               ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 16:17         ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 16:44           ` Jakub Kicinski
2021-08-04 17:28             ` David Ahern
2021-08-04 18:27               ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-05  0:43                 ` David Ahern
2021-08-05  2:14                   ` Saeed Mahameed
2021-08-12 12:19             ` Jesper Dangaard Brouer
2021-10-26  9:23       ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-05 16:44         ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 11:37           ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen [this message]
2021-11-08 13:21             ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-11-08 18:09               ` Toke Høiland-Jørgensen
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 04/21] ethernet, dpaa2: simplify per-channel Ethtool stats counting Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 05/21] ethernet, dpaa2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 06/21] ethernet, ena: constify src and syncp args of ena_safe_update_stat() Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 07/21] ethernet, ena: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-04 13:04   ` Shay Agroskin
2021-08-04 15:24     ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 08/21] ethernet, enetc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 09/21] ethernet, mvneta: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 10/21] ethernet, mvneta: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 11/21] ethernet, mvpp2: rename xdp_xmit_err to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 12/21] ethernet, mvpp2: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 13/21] ethernet, sfc: " Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 17:59   ` Edward Cree
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 14/21] veth: rename rx_drops to xdp_errors Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 15/21] veth: rename xdp_xmit_errors to xdp_xmit_drops Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 16/21] veth: rename drop xdp_ suffix from packets and bytes stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 17/21] veth: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:36 ` [PATCH net-next 18/21] virtio-net: rename xdp_tx{,__drops} SQ stats to xdp_xmit{,__drops} Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 19/21] virtio-net: don't mix error-caused drops with XDP_DROP cases Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 20/21] virtio-net: convert to standard XDP stats Alexander Lobakin
2021-08-03 16:42 ` [PATCH net-next 21/21] Documentation, ethtool-netlink: update standard statistics documentation Alexander Lobakin

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=87v912ri7h.fsf@toke.dk \
    --to=toke@redhat.com \
    --cc=akiyano@amazon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexanderduyck@fb.com \
    --cc=alexandr.lobakin@intel.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=danieller@nvidia.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dmurphy@ti.com \
    --cc=ecree.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=hawk@kernel.org \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ioana.ciornei@nxp.com \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukasz.czapnik@intel.com \
    --cc=maciej.fijalkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=marcin.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.kubiak@intel.com \
    --cc=michal.swiatkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=mkubecek@suse.cz \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=netanel@amazon.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=petr.vorel@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeed@kernel.org \
    --cc=saeedb@amazon.com \
    --cc=sameehj@amazon.com \
    --cc=shayagr@amazon.com \
    --cc=shenjian15@huawei.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=vladyslavt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=yangbo.lu@nxp.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yuehaibing@huawei.com \
    --cc=zhengyongjun3@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next 03/21] ethtool, stats: introduce standard XDP statistics' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).