LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
To: Ferry Toth <ftoth@exalondelft.nl>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Ruslan Bilovol <ruslan.bilovol@gmail.com>,
	Oded Gabbay <oded.gabbay@gmail.com>,
	Cezary Rojewski <cezary.rojewski@intel.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Pawel Laszczak <pawell@cadence.com>,
	Jack Pham <jackp@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Lorenzo Colitti <lorenzo@google.com>,
	Wesley Cheng <wcheng@codeaurora.org>,
	robh+dt@kernel.org, agross@kernel.org,
	bjorn.andersson@linaro.org, frowand.list@gmail.com,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com,
	Thinh Nguyen <Thinh.Nguyen@synopsys.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>,
	Pavel Hofman <pavel.hofman@ivitera.com>,
	Ferry Toth <fntoth@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 1/3] Revert "usb: gadget: u_audio: add real feedback implementation"
Date: Wed, 25 Aug 2021 08:53:23 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <87v93u5au9.fsf@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210824201433.11385-1-ftoth@exalondelft.nl>


Ferry Toth <ftoth@exalondelft.nl> writes:

> This reverts commit e89bb4288378b85c82212b60dc98ecda6b3d3a70.
>
> The commit is part of a series with commit
> 24f779dac8f3efb9629adc0e486914d93dc45517 causing a BUG on dwc3
> hardware, at least on Intel Merrifield platform when configured
> through configfs:
> BUG: kernel NULL pointer dereference, address: 0000000000000008
> ...
> RIP: 0010:dwc3_gadget_del_and_unmap_request+0x19/0xe0
> ...
> Call Trace:
>  dwc3_remove_requests.constprop.0+0x12f/0x170
>  __dwc3_gadget_ep_disable+0x7a/0x160
>  dwc3_gadget_ep_disable+0x3d/0xd0
>  usb_ep_disable+0x1c/0x70
>  u_audio_stop_capture+0x79/0x120 [u_audio]
>  afunc_set_alt+0x73/0x80 [usb_f_uac2]
>  composite_setup+0x224/0x1b90 [libcomposite]
>
> Pavel's suggestion to add
> `echo "adaptive" > functions/uac2.usb0/c_sync` to the configfs script
> resolves the issue.
> Thinh suggests "the crash is probably because of f_uac2 prematurely
> freeing feedback request before its completion. usb_ep_dequeue() is
> asynchronous. dwc2() may treat it as a synchronous call so you didn't
> get a crash."
>
> Revert as this is a regression and the kernel shouldn't crash depending
> on configuration parameters.
>
> Reported-by: Ferry Toth <fntoth@gmail.com>

this should be Signed-off-by ;-)

-- 
balbi

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-25  5:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-24 20:14 Ferry Toth
2021-08-24 20:14 ` [PATCH v1 2/3] Revert "usb: gadget: f_uac2: add adaptive sync support for capture" Ferry Toth
2021-08-25  5:53   ` Felipe Balbi
2021-08-24 20:14 ` [PATCH v1 3/3] Revert "usb: gadget: f_uac2/u_audio: add feedback endpoint support" Ferry Toth
2021-08-25  5:54   ` Felipe Balbi
2021-08-25  5:53 ` Felipe Balbi [this message]
2021-08-25  7:16   ` [PATCH v1 1/3] Revert "usb: gadget: u_audio: add real feedback implementation" Ferry Toth
2021-08-25  9:21 ` [PATCH] usb: gadget: f_uac2: fixup feedback endpoint stop Jerome Brunet
2021-08-25 20:07   ` Ferry Toth
2021-08-25 21:42     ` Thinh Nguyen
2021-08-26  7:25       ` Jerome Brunet
2021-08-27  0:50         ` Thinh Nguyen
2021-08-27  8:38           ` Jerome Brunet
2021-08-27 23:30             ` Thinh Nguyen
2021-08-26  7:23     ` Jerome Brunet

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=87v93u5au9.fsf@kernel.org \
    --to=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=Thinh.Nguyen@synopsys.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=cezary.rojewski@intel.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=fntoth@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=ftoth@exalondelft.nl \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jackp@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo@google.com \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=oded.gabbay@gmail.com \
    --cc=pavel.hofman@ivitera.com \
    --cc=pawell@cadence.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=ruslan.bilovol@gmail.com \
    --cc=wcheng@codeaurora.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 1/3] Revert "usb: gadget: u_audio: add real feedback implementation"' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).