LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Vincent MAILHOL <mailhol.vincent@wanadoo.fr>
Cc: open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@kernel.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Ayush Sawal <ayush.sawal@chelsio.com>,
	Vinay Kumar Yadav <vinay.yadav@chelsio.com>,
	Rohit Maheshwari <rohitm@chelsio.com>,
	Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Stanislaw Gruszka <stf_xl@wp.pl>,
	Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@intel.com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>,
	Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>, Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>,
	John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>,
	Mordechay Goodstein <mordechay.goodstein@intel.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Wolfgang Grandegger <wg@grandegger.com>,
	Marc Kleine-Budde <mkl@pengutronix.de>,
	Arunachalam Santhanam <arunachalam.santhanam@in.bosch.com>,
	Mikulas Patocka <mikulas@artax.karlin.mff.cuni.cz>,
	linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org, ath10k@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, linux-can <linux-can@vger.kernel.org>,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/5] treewide: Replace open-coded flex arrays in unions
Date: Thu, 26 Aug 2021 08:39:47 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <AD5C7E3B-6984-49D9-8666-B3BE90588F1F@chromium.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAMZ6RqJMWaRCB3sZa-it804Sv6aFyZ9J3aQyAStMY-1GAwR1Jg@mail.gmail.com>



On August 26, 2021 12:36:27 AM PDT, Vincent MAILHOL <mailhol.vincent@wanadoo.fr> wrote:
>On Thu. 26 Aug 2021 at 14:04, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>> In support of enabling -Warray-bounds and -Wzero-length-bounds and
>> correctly handling run-time memcpy() bounds checking, replace all
>> open-coded flexible arrays (i.e. 0-element arrays) in unions with the
>> flex_array() helper macro.
>
>Nitpick: the commit description says flex_array() but the code is
>actually DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY() or __DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY().

Ah yes, thanks! I had renamed the macro but missed these references. Now fixed!

-Kees

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-26 15:39 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 17+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-26  5:04 [PATCH v2 0/5] Enable -Warray-bounds and -Wzero-length-bounds Kees Cook
2021-08-26  5:04 ` [PATCH v2 1/5] stddef: Add flexible array union helper Kees Cook
2021-08-26  5:04 ` [PATCH v2 2/5] treewide: Replace open-coded flex arrays in unions Kees Cook
2021-08-26  6:24   ` Marc Kleine-Budde
2021-08-27 16:08     ` Kees Cook
2021-08-27 17:08       ` Marc Kleine-Budde
2021-08-27 16:17     ` Kees Cook
2021-08-28  7:31       ` Vincent MAILHOL
2021-08-26  7:36   ` Vincent MAILHOL
2021-08-26 15:39     ` Kees Cook [this message]
2021-08-26  5:04 ` [PATCH v2 3/5] treewide: Replace 0-element memcpy() destinations with flexible arrays Kees Cook
2021-08-26  5:24   ` Keith Packard
2021-08-26  5:51     ` Kees Cook
2021-08-26  5:04 ` [PATCH v2 4/5] Makefile: Enable -Warray-bounds Kees Cook
2021-08-26  5:04 ` [PATCH v2 5/5] Makefile: Enable -Wzero-length-bounds Kees Cook
2021-08-27  9:25 ` [PATCH v2 1/5] stddef: Add flexible array union helper Vincent Mailhol
2021-08-27 15:39   ` Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=AD5C7E3B-6984-49D9-8666-B3BE90588F1F@chromium.org \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arunachalam.santhanam@in.bosch.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=ath10k@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=ayush.sawal@chelsio.com \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=gustavoars@kernel.org \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=johannes.berg@intel.com \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=keithp@keithp.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvalo@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-can@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=luciano.coelho@intel.com \
    --cc=mailhol.vincent@wanadoo.fr \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=mikulas@artax.karlin.mff.cuni.cz \
    --cc=mkl@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=mordechay.goodstein@intel.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rohitm@chelsio.com \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=stf_xl@wp.pl \
    --cc=vinay.yadav@chelsio.com \
    --cc=wg@grandegger.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/5] treewide: Replace open-coded flex arrays in unions' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).