LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@vanguardiasur.com.ar>
To: Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas@ndufresne.ca>,
	Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>
Cc: "Benjamin Gaignard" <benjamin.gaignard@collabora.com>,
	"Mauro Carvalho Chehab" <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	"Philipp Zabel" <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	"Greg KH" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Maxime Ripard" <mripard@kernel.org>,
	"Paul Kocialkowski" <paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com>,
	"Chen-Yu Tsai" <wens@csie.org>,
	"Jernej Škrabec" <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	"John Cox" <jc@kynesim.co.uk>,
	linux-media <linux-media@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:ARM/Rockchip SoC..."
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-staging@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev,
	"Lucas Stach" <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2] media: HEVC: RPS clean up
Date: Thu, 2 Sep 2021 13:55:26 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAAEAJfA9Sjr78c==1tCoqja4abY2sZ++UcAT7fgBrK7wid1-2A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1484b5ebb9c943c72d7d7a0481c1a2cd9899705b.camel@ndufresne.ca>

Hans, Nicolas,

On Tue, 31 Aug 2021 at 16:19, Nicolas Dufresne <nicolas@ndufresne.ca> wrote:
>
> As per discussion with Ezequiel, I think this patch should perhaps be made an
> RFC titled "media: uapi: clean and make HEVC uAPI public". Keep it RFC until we
> have collected all the needed changes.
>
> Opinion ?

I agree.

IMO, it makes no sense to keep merging anything on Hantro G2 HEVC
support, until the BLK-CTRL part is ready [1]. Without that, we can't
test anything
so we may introduce regressions without knowing.

Also, I think it's time to start discussing the HEVC uAPI as a whole,
with the goal is having a stable interface that can be used by userspace
frameworks (GStreamer).

[1] https://www.spinics.net/lists/arm-kernel/msg913881.html

Thanks,
Ezequiel

      reply	other threads:[~2021-09-02 16:55 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-31  9:48 Benjamin Gaignard
2021-08-31  9:48 ` [PATCH 1/2] media: hevc: Remove RPS named flags Benjamin Gaignard
2021-08-31 11:08   ` John Cox
2021-08-31 11:56     ` Benjamin Gaignard
2021-08-31 14:33       ` John Cox
2021-08-31  9:49 ` [PATCH 2/2] media: hevc: Embedded indexes in RPS Benjamin Gaignard
2021-08-31 19:19 ` [PATCH 0/2] media: HEVC: RPS clean up Nicolas Dufresne
2021-09-02 16:55   ` Ezequiel Garcia [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAAEAJfA9Sjr78c==1tCoqja4abY2sZ++UcAT7fgBrK7wid1-2A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=ezequiel@vanguardiasur.com.ar \
    --cc=benjamin.gaignard@collabora.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=jc@kynesim.co.uk \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas@ndufresne.ca \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=paul.kocialkowski@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/2] media: HEVC: RPS clean up' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).