LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@arm.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@wdc.com>,
	Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com>,
	Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com>,
	Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@arm.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Kostya Serebryany <kcc@google.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	"Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Zi Yan <zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c
Date: Fri, 11 May 2018 14:36:22 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAAeHK+yR9=SYEBg-Pvi+x3qSqQSG1u+79pk5vQvOcsp+o=zkxw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20180508151137.zguepljs3pa7xv5g@armageddon.cambridge.arm.com>

On Tue, May 8, 2018 at 5:11 PM, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> wrote:
> On Wed, May 02, 2018 at 07:25:17PM +0200, Andrey Konovalov wrote:
>> On Wed, May 2, 2018 at 5:36 PM, Kirill A. Shutemov
>> <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> wrote:
>> > On Wed, May 02, 2018 at 02:38:42PM +0000, Andrey Konovalov wrote:
>> >> > Does having a tagged address here makes any difference? I couldn't hit a
>> >> > failure with my simple tests (LD_PRELOAD a library that randomly adds
>> >> > tags to pointers returned by malloc).
>> >>
>> >> I think you're right, follow_page_mask is only called from
>> >> __get_user_pages, which already untagged the address. I'll remove
>> >> untagging here.
>> >
>> > It also called from follow_page(). Have you covered all its callers?
>>
>> Oh, missed that, will take a look.
>>
>> Thinking about that, would it make sense to add untagging to find_vma
>> (and others) instead of trying to cover all find_vma callers?
>
> I don't think adding the untagging to find_vma() is sufficient. In many
> cases the caller does a subsequent check like 'start < vma->vm_start'
> (see sys_msync() as an example, there are a few others as well).

OK.

> What I
> did in my tests was a WARN_ON_ONCE() in find_vma() if the address is
> tagged.

So this is similar to what I did.

Do you think trying to find "all places where we cast out __user" with
static analysis as Kirill suggested is something I should pursue? Or
is this patchset is good as is as the first approximation, since we
can fix more things where untagging is needed as we discover them one
by one?

  reply	other threads:[~2018-05-11 12:36 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-18 18:53 [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 1/6] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 2/6] uaccess: add untagged_addr definition for other arches Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 3/6] arm64: untag user addresses in copy_from_user and others Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 15:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 15:29     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:47   ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-02 14:38     ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-02 15:36       ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-02 17:25         ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 14:09           ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-03 15:24             ` Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-05-03 16:51               ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-05-08 15:11           ` Catalin Marinas
2018-05-11 12:36             ` Andrey Konovalov [this message]
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 5/6] lib, arm64: untag addrs passed to strncpy_from_user and strnlen_user Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-18 18:53 ` [PATCH 6/6] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-19  9:33 ` [PATCH 0/6] arm64: untag user pointers passed to the kernel Kirill A. Shutemov
2018-04-25 14:45   ` Andrey Konovalov
2018-04-26 17:56     ` Catalin Marinas

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAAeHK+yR9=SYEBg-Pvi+x3qSqQSG1u+79pk5vQvOcsp+o=zkxw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=andreyknvl@google.com \
    --cc=Jacob.Bramley@arm.com \
    --cc=Lee.Smith@arm.com \
    --cc=Ramana.Radhakrishnan@arm.com \
    --cc=Ruben.Ayrapetyan@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=bart.vanassche@wdc.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=eugenis@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=kcc@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kstewart@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=zi.yan@cs.rutgers.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 4/6] mm, arm64: untag user addresses in mm/gup.c' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).