LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>
To: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>,
	quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com, Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Sai Prakash Ranjan <saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org>,
	Veerabhadrarao Badiganti <vbadigan@codeaurora.org>,
	Linux MMC List <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	"list@263.net:IOMMU DRIVERS" <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@chromium.org>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>,
	Konrad Dybcio <konrad.dybcio@somainline.org>,
	Krishna Reddy <vdumpa@nvidia.com>,
	"Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@orcam.me.uk>,
	Nicolin Chen <nicoleotsuka@gmail.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC
Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2021 17:34:36 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACK8Z6Hzy+t05kY0VGwEnzcHZXgg9BAuS+DmRf3==J+G62qXgQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACK8Z6FV+QYR01=aP4AT8rNUQMkX-WwesHzf5XY8465KuUZ=_Q@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Rob,

On Mon, Aug 2, 2021 at 5:09 PM Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com> wrote:
>
> Hi Robin, Doug,
>
> On Wed, Jul 14, 2021 at 8:14 AM Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> wrote:
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> > On Tue, Jul 13, 2021 at 11:07 AM Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > On 2021-07-08 15:36, Doug Anderson wrote:
> > > [...]
> > > >> Or document for the users that want performance how to
> > > >> change the setting, so that they can decide.
> > > >
> > > > Pushing this to the users can make sense for a Linux distribution but
> > > > probably less sense for an embedded platform. So I'm happy to make
> > > > some way for a user to override this (like via kernel command line),
> > > > but I also strongly believe there should be a default that users don't
> > > > have to futz with that we think is correct.
> > >
> > > FYI I did make progress on the "punt it to userspace" approach. I'm not
> > > posting it even as an RFC yet because I still need to set up a machine
> > > to try actually testing any of it (it's almost certainly broken
> > > somewhere), but in the end it comes out looking surprisingly not too bad
> > > overall. If you're curious to take a look in the meantime I put it here:
> > >
> > > https://gitlab.arm.com/linux-arm/linux-rm/-/commits/iommu/fq

BTW, is there another mirror to this? I (and another colleague) are
getting the following error when trying to clone it:

rajatja@rajat2:~/rob_iommu$ git clone
https://git.gitlab.arm.com/linux-arm/linux-rm.git
Cloning into 'linux-rm'...
remote: Enumerating objects: 125712, done.
remote: Counting objects: 100% (125712/125712), done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (41203/41203), done.
error: RPC failed; curl 18 transfer closed with outstanding read data remaining
error: 804 bytes of body are still expected
fetch-pack: unexpected disconnect while reading sideband packet fatal:
early EOF
fatal: fetch-pack: invalid index-pack output rajatja@rajat2:~/rob_iommu$

We've tried both git and https methods.

>
> I was wondering if you got any closer to testing / sending it out? I
> looked at the patches and am trying to understand, would they also
> make it possible to convert at runtime, an existing "non-strict"
> domain (for a particular device) into a "strict" domain leaving the
> other devices/domains as-is? Please let me know when you think your
> patches are good to be tested, and I'd also be interested in trying
> them out.
>
> >
> > Being able to change this at runtime through sysfs sounds great and it
> > fills all the needs I'm aware of, thanks! In Chrome OS we can just use
> > this with some udev rules and get everything we need.
>
> I still have another (inverse) use case where this does not work:
> We have an Intel chromebook with the default domain type being
> non-strict. There is an LTE modem (an internal PCI device which cannot
> be marked external), which we'd like to be treated as a "Strict" DMA
> domain.
>
> Do I understand it right that using Rob's patches, I could potentially
> switch the domain to "strict" *after* booting (since we don't use
> initramfs), but by that time, the driver might have already attached
> to the modem device (using "non-strict" domain), and thus the damage
> may have already been done? So perhaps we still need a device property
> that the firmware could use to indicate "strictness" for certain
> devices at boot?
>
> Thanks,
> Rajat

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03  0:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-24 17:17 Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] iommu: Add per-domain strictness and combine with the global default Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] iommu/arm-smmu: Check for strictness after calling impl->init_context() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] mmc: sdhci-msm: Request non-strict IOMMU mode Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 23:05   ` Doug Anderson
2021-06-25 13:18 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC Joerg Roedel
2021-06-25 14:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-07 20:00     ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-08  8:08       ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-08 14:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-13 18:07           ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 15:14             ` Doug Anderson
2021-08-03  0:09               ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  0:34                 ` Rajat Jain [this message]
2021-08-03  8:19                 ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-09 13:56         ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:15           ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-14 10:29             ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:48               ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-09 19:21         ` Robin Murphy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CACK8Z6Hzy+t05kY0VGwEnzcHZXgg9BAuS+DmRf3==J+G62qXgQ@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jordan@cosmicpenguin.net \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=konrad.dybcio@somainline.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=macro@orcam.me.uk \
    --cc=nicoleotsuka@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=sonnyrao@chromium.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vbadigan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=vdumpa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).