LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Martin Guy <martinwguy@gmail.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Hartley Sweeten <hsweeten@visionengravers.com>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com>,
	SoC Team <soc@kernel.org>,
	Nikita Shubin <nikita.shubin@maquefel.me>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Hubert Feurstein <hubert.feurstein@contec.at>,
	Lukasz Majewski <lukma@denx.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	clang-built-linux <clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support
Date: Tue, 3 Aug 2021 14:12:33 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdbRbgjo1AkZVd0J1nhuo601o8=20rKR+ccaJR1+vqn6qg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAL4-wQqCL1S-GYu7VKJeTT37wh=rR=SMUuwgKiXnnn_Y=uydOA@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Aug 2, 2021 at 5:45 PM Martin Guy <martinwguy@gmail.com> wrote:

> > was removed from gcc in its 4.8 release in 2012.
>
> I was sad about that, as I had managed to get it working correctly in
> 4.2 4.3 and 4.4.
> Unfortunately the GCC ARM maintainer at the time was paid by ARM, and
> they had no interest in it, as I gather the ARM-Cirrus partnership
> ended up disappointingly.

Political issues aside, have you considered contributing support
to LLVM instead?

It currently doesn't even support ARMv4 AFAIK but reportedly
has an easier to use and maintain back-end. (I do not know if
this is true, I just browsed this:
https://llvm.org/docs/WritingAnLLVMBackend.html )
Current ARM Targets are here:
https://github.com/llvm/llvm-project/tree/main/llvm/lib/Target/ARM
And they have a very clear and straight-forward developer policy:
https://llvm.org/docs/DeveloperPolicy.html

If ARMv4 support could be added to LLVM, that would solve
a lot of my headaches for ARM32, where we have things like
SA110 being actively maintained.

Yours,
Linus Walleij

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03 12:12 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210802141245.1146772-1-arnd@kernel.org>
2021-08-02 15:45 ` Martin Guy
2021-08-03 11:40   ` Martin Guy
     [not found]     ` <CAK8P3a2z_xxpz9hAYoBx5=bS81V=TkjEU6WHNhPi1UhQ3UScfw@mail.gmail.com>
2021-08-03 15:52       ` Jerome Oufella
2021-08-03 12:12   ` Linus Walleij [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CACRpkdbRbgjo1AkZVd0J1nhuo601o8=20rKR+ccaJR1+vqn6qg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=hsweeten@visionengravers.com \
    --cc=hubert.feurstein@contec.at \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukma@denx.de \
    --cc=martinwguy@gmail.com \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=nikita.shubin@maquefel.me \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=soc@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).