LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>,
	Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>,
	quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com, Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>,
	Rajat Jain <rajatja@google.com>,
	Sai Prakash Ranjan <saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org>,
	Veerabhadrarao Badiganti <vbadigan@codeaurora.org>,
	Linux MMC List <linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	"list@263.net:IOMMU DRIVERS" <iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@chromium.org>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>,
	Konrad Dybcio <konrad.dybcio@somainline.org>,
	Krishna Reddy <vdumpa@nvidia.com>,
	"Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@orcam.me.uk>,
	Nicolin Chen <nicoleotsuka@gmail.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC
Date: Wed, 14 Jul 2021 08:14:24 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAD=FV=XaTqNDn=vLEXfJ2dV+EH2UoxPfzWeiS+_sZ9hrQ274bw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <e3555c49-2978-355f-93bb-dbfa7d09cab8@arm.com>

Hi,

On Tue, Jul 13, 2021 at 11:07 AM Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> wrote:
>
> On 2021-07-08 15:36, Doug Anderson wrote:
> [...]
> >> Or document for the users that want performance how to
> >> change the setting, so that they can decide.
> >
> > Pushing this to the users can make sense for a Linux distribution but
> > probably less sense for an embedded platform. So I'm happy to make
> > some way for a user to override this (like via kernel command line),
> > but I also strongly believe there should be a default that users don't
> > have to futz with that we think is correct.
>
> FYI I did make progress on the "punt it to userspace" approach. I'm not
> posting it even as an RFC yet because I still need to set up a machine
> to try actually testing any of it (it's almost certainly broken
> somewhere), but in the end it comes out looking surprisingly not too bad
> overall. If you're curious to take a look in the meantime I put it here:
>
> https://gitlab.arm.com/linux-arm/linux-rm/-/commits/iommu/fq

Being able to change this at runtime through sysfs sounds great and it
fills all the needs I'm aware of, thanks! In Chrome OS we can just use
this with some udev rules and get everything we need. I'm happy to
give this a spin when you're ready for extra testing.

-Doug

  reply	other threads:[~2021-07-14 15:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 20+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-24 17:17 Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 1/3] iommu: Add per-domain strictness and combine with the global default Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] iommu/arm-smmu: Check for strictness after calling impl->init_context() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 17:17 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] mmc: sdhci-msm: Request non-strict IOMMU mode Douglas Anderson
2021-06-24 23:05   ` Doug Anderson
2021-06-25 13:18 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC Joerg Roedel
2021-06-25 14:42   ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-07 20:00     ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-08  8:08       ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-08 14:36         ` Doug Anderson
2021-07-13 18:07           ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 15:14             ` Doug Anderson [this message]
2021-08-03  0:09               ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  0:34                 ` Rajat Jain
2021-08-03  8:19                 ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-09 13:56         ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:15           ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-14 10:29             ` Robin Murphy
2021-07-14 10:48               ` Joerg Roedel
2021-07-09 19:21         ` Robin Murphy

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAD=FV=XaTqNDn=vLEXfJ2dV+EH2UoxPfzWeiS+_sZ9hrQ274bw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=jordan@cosmicpenguin.net \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=konrad.dybcio@somainline.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=macro@orcam.me.uk \
    --cc=nicoleotsuka@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=quic_c_gdjako@quicinc.com \
    --cc=rajatja@google.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=saravanak@google.com \
    --cc=sonnyrao@chromium.org \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=ulf.hansson@linaro.org \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vbadigan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=vdumpa@nvidia.com \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] iommu: Enable non-strict DMA on QCom SD/MMC' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).