LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@gmail.com>
To: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Alexey Gladkov <gladkov.alexey@gmail.com>
Cc: Alban Crequy <alban.crequy@gmail.com>,
	Alban Crequy <alban@kinvolk.io>, Dongsu Park <dongsu@kinvolk.io>,
	Iago Lopez Galeiras <iago@kinvolk.io>,
	Stephen J Day <stephen.day@docker.com>,
	Michael Crosby <crosbymichael@gmail.com>,
	Jess Frazelle <acidburn@microsoft.com>,
	Akihiro Suda <suda.akihiro@lab.ntt.co.jp>,
	Aleksa Sarai <asarai@suse.de>, Daniel J Walsh <dwalsh@redhat.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Containers <containers@lists.linux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] [RFC][WIP] namespace.c: Allow some unprivileged proc mounts when not fully visible
Date: Sat, 14 Apr 2018 00:41:31 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAEiveUf5LWpvA-QMm3eYr9yFgUjwyQdkk-WVptze9m_EfbGMwg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <87tvsrjai0.fsf@xmission.com>

On Wed, Apr 4, 2018 at 4:45 PM, Eric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com> wrote:
[...]
>
> The only option I have seen proposed that might qualify as something
> general purpose and simple is a new filesystem that is just the process
> directories of proc.  As there would in essence be no files that would
> need restrictions it would be safe to allow anyone to mount without
> restriction.
>
Eric, there is a series for this:
https://www.mail-archive.com/linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org/msg1533642.html

patch on top for pids:
https://github.com/legionus/linux/commit/993a2a5b9af95b0ac901ff41d32124b72ed676e3

it was reviewed, and suggestions were integrated from Andy and Al Viro
feedback, thanks. It works on Debian, Ubuntu and others, not on Fedora
due to bug with dracut+systemd.

I do not have time to work on it now, anyone can just pick them.

Thanks!


-- 
tixxdz

  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-04-13 22:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 11+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-04 11:53 Alban Crequy
2018-04-04 14:45 ` Eric W. Biederman
2018-04-04 15:34   ` Aleksa Sarai
2018-04-04 18:42   ` Serge E. Hallyn
2018-04-04 22:02     ` Eric W. Biederman
2018-04-05 14:19   ` Christian Brauner
2018-04-13 22:41   ` Djalal Harouni [this message]
2018-04-16 14:16     ` Alexey Gladkov
2018-04-04 17:45 Alexey Dobriyan
2018-04-04 17:49 Alexey Dobriyan
2018-04-04 23:59 ` Eric W. Biederman

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAEiveUf5LWpvA-QMm3eYr9yFgUjwyQdkk-WVptze9m_EfbGMwg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=tixxdz@gmail.com \
    --cc=acidburn@microsoft.com \
    --cc=alban.crequy@gmail.com \
    --cc=alban@kinvolk.io \
    --cc=asarai@suse.de \
    --cc=containers@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=crosbymichael@gmail.com \
    --cc=dongsu@kinvolk.io \
    --cc=dwalsh@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=gladkov.alexey@gmail.com \
    --cc=iago@kinvolk.io \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=stephen.day@docker.com \
    --cc=suda.akihiro@lab.ntt.co.jp \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] [RFC][WIP] namespace.c: Allow some unprivileged proc mounts when not fully visible' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).