LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Nitesh Lal <nilal@redhat.com>
To: netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org, jassisinghbrar@gmail.com,
	Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>,
	Tushar.Khandelwal@arm.com, manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org,
	lewis.hanly@microchip.com, ley.foon.tan@intel.com,
	kabel@kernel.org, huangguangbin2@huawei.com, davem@davemloft.net,
	benve@cisco.com, govind@gmx.com, kashyap.desai@broadcom.com,
	Sumit Saxena <sumit.saxena@broadcom.com>,
	shivasharan.srikanteshwara@broadcom.com,
	sathya.prakash@broadcom.com,
	Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com>,
	suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com,
	ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com, sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com,
	somnath.kotur@broadcom.com, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	rostedt@goodmis.org, Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>
Cc: Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	jbrandeb@kernel.org, Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Alex Belits <abelits@marvell.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	akpm@linuxfoundation.org, sfr@canb.auug.org.au,
	stephen@networkplumber.org, rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com,
	chris.friesen@windriver.com, Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>,
	pjwaskiewicz@gmail.com, Stefan Assmann <sassmann@redhat.com>,
	Tomas Henzl <thenzl@redhat.com>,
	james.smart@broadcom.com,
	Dick Kennedy <dick.kennedy@broadcom.com>,
	Ken Cox <jkc@redhat.com>,
	faisal.latif@intel.com, shiraz.saleem@intel.com,
	tariqt@nvidia.com, Alaa Hleihel <ahleihel@redhat.com>,
	Kamal Heib <kheib@redhat.com>,
	borisp@nvidia.com, saeedm@nvidia.com,
	Nitesh Lal <nilal@redhat.com>,
	"Nikolova, Tatyana E" <tatyana.e.nikolova@intel.com>,
	"Ismail, Mustafa" <mustafa.ismail@intel.com>,
	Al Stone <ahs3@redhat.com>, Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>,
	Chandrakanth Patil <chandrakanth.patil@broadcom.com>,
	bjorn.andersson@linaro.org, chunkuang.hu@kernel.org,
	yongqiang.niu@mediatek.com, baolin.wang7@gmail.com,
	Petr Oros <poros@redhat.com>, Ming Lei <minlei@redhat.com>,
	Ewan Milne <emilne@redhat.com>,
	jejb@linux.ibm.com, martin.petersen@oracle.com,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 00/14] genirq: Cleanup the abuse of irq_set_affinity_hint()
Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2021 11:26:39 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAFki+LkNzk0ajUeuBnJZ6mp1kxB0+zZf60tw1Vfq+nPy-bvftQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210720232624.1493424-1-nitesh@redhat.com>

On Tue, Jul 20, 2021 at 7:26 PM Nitesh Narayan Lal <nitesh@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> The drivers currently rely on irq_set_affinity_hint() to either set the
> affinity_hint that is consumed by the userspace and/or to enforce a custom
> affinity.
>
> irq_set_affinity_hint() as the name suggests is originally introduced to
> only set the affinity_hint to help the userspace in guiding the interrupts
> and not the affinity itself. However, since the commit
>
>         e2e64a932556 "genirq: Set initial affinity in irq_set_affinity_hint()"
>

[...]

>  drivers/infiniband/hw/irdma/hw.c              |  4 +-
>  drivers/mailbox/bcm-flexrm-mailbox.c          |  4 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/cisco/enic/enic_main.c   |  8 +--
>  drivers/net/ethernet/emulex/benet/be_main.c   |  4 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/huawei/hinic/hinic_rx.c  |  4 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/intel/i40e/i40e_main.c   |  8 +--
>  drivers/net/ethernet/intel/iavf/iavf_main.c   |  8 +--
>  drivers/net/ethernet/intel/ixgbe/ixgbe_main.c | 10 ++--
>  drivers/net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx4/eq.c       |  8 ++-
>  .../net/ethernet/mellanox/mlx5/core/pci_irq.c |  8 +--
>  drivers/scsi/lpfc/lpfc_init.c                 |  4 +-
>  drivers/scsi/megaraid/megaraid_sas_base.c     | 27 +++++-----
>  drivers/scsi/mpt3sas/mpt3sas_base.c           | 21 ++++----
>  include/linux/interrupt.h                     | 53 ++++++++++++++++++-
>  kernel/irq/manage.c                           |  8 +--
>  15 files changed, 114 insertions(+), 65 deletions(-)
>
> --
>
>

Gentle ping.
Any comments on the following patches:

  genirq: Provide new interfaces for affinity hints
  scsi: megaraid_sas: Use irq_set_affinity_and_hint
  scsi: mpt3sas: Use irq_set_affinity_and_hint
  enic: Use irq_update_affinity_hint
  be2net: Use irq_update_affinity_hint
  mailbox: Use irq_update_affinity_hint
  hinic: Use irq_set_affinity_and_hint

or any other patches?

-- 
Thanks
Nitesh


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-08-02 15:26 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 28+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-20 23:26 Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 01/14] genirq: Provide new interfaces for affinity hints Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-06 15:51   ` Ming Lei
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 02/14] iavf: Use irq_update_affinity_hint Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 03/14] i40e: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 04/14] scsi: megaraid_sas: Use irq_set_affinity_and_hint Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-06 11:31   ` Sumit Saxena
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 05/14] scsi: mpt3sas: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-06  8:54   ` Sreekanth Reddy
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 06/14] RDMA/irdma: Use irq_update_affinity_hint Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-22 18:25   ` Nikolova, Tatyana E
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 07/14] enic: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-16 17:53   ` Christian Benvenuti (benve)
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 08/14] be2net: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 09/14] ixgbe: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 10/14] mailbox: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-16 18:11   ` Jassi Brar
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 11/14] scsi: lpfc: Use irq_set_affinity Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-23 17:15   ` James Smart
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 12/14] hinic: Use irq_set_affinity_and_hint Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 13/14] net/mlx5: " Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-07-20 23:26 ` [PATCH v5 14/14] net/mlx4: Use irq_update_affinity_hint Nitesh Narayan Lal
2021-08-02 15:26 ` Nitesh Lal [this message]
2021-08-06  3:04   ` [PATCH v5 00/14] genirq: Cleanup the abuse of irq_set_affinity_hint() Martin K. Petersen
2021-08-06 14:56     ` Nitesh Lal
2021-08-16 15:50   ` Nitesh Lal
2021-08-30 15:38     ` Nitesh Lal
2021-08-30 15:40       ` Nitesh Lal

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAFki+LkNzk0ajUeuBnJZ6mp1kxB0+zZf60tw1Vfq+nPy-bvftQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=nilal@redhat.com \
    --cc=Tushar.Khandelwal@arm.com \
    --cc=abelits@marvell.com \
    --cc=ahleihel@redhat.com \
    --cc=ahs3@redhat.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akpm@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=baolin.wang7@gmail.com \
    --cc=benve@cisco.com \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=borisp@nvidia.com \
    --cc=chandrakanth.patil@broadcom.com \
    --cc=chris.friesen@windriver.com \
    --cc=chunkuang.hu@kernel.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dick.kennedy@broadcom.com \
    --cc=emilne@redhat.com \
    --cc=faisal.latif@intel.com \
    --cc=frederic@kernel.org \
    --cc=govind@gmx.com \
    --cc=huangguangbin2@huawei.com \
    --cc=james.smart@broadcom.com \
    --cc=jassisinghbrar@gmail.com \
    --cc=jbrandeb@kernel.org \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=jkc@redhat.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kabel@kernel.org \
    --cc=kashyap.desai@broadcom.com \
    --cc=kheib@redhat.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=leonro@nvidia.com \
    --cc=lewis.hanly@microchip.com \
    --cc=ley.foon.tan@intel.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=minlei@redhat.com \
    --cc=mtosatti@redhat.com \
    --cc=mustafa.ismail@intel.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pjwaskiewicz@gmail.com \
    --cc=poros@redhat.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=saeedm@nvidia.com \
    --cc=sassmann@redhat.com \
    --cc=sathya.prakash@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sfr@canb.auug.org.au \
    --cc=shiraz.saleem@intel.com \
    --cc=shivasharan.srikanteshwara@broadcom.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sreekanth.reddy@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sriharsha.basavapatna@broadcom.com \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=suganath-prabu.subramani@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sumit.saxena@broadcom.com \
    --cc=tariqt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=tatyana.e.nikolova@intel.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thenzl@redhat.com \
    --cc=viresh.kumar@linaro.org \
    --cc=yongqiang.niu@mediatek.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v5 00/14] genirq: Cleanup the abuse of irq_set_affinity_hint()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).