LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: "Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Hector Marco-Gisbert" <hecmargi@upv.es>,
	"Ismael Ripoll" <iripoll@upv.es>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Will Deacon" <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	"Ralf Baechle" <ralf@linux-mips.org>,
	"Benjamin Herrenschmidt" <benh@kernel.crashing.org>,
	"Paul Mackerras" <paulus@samba.org>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Martin Schwidefsky" <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>,
	"Heiko Carstens" <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>,
	linux390@de.ibm.com, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Oleg Nesterov" <oleg@redhat.com>,
	"Andy Lutomirski" <luto@amacapital.net>,
	"David A. Long" <dave.long@linaro.org>,
	"Andrey Ryabinin" <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>,
	"Arun Chandran" <achandran@mvista.com>,
	"Min-Hua Chen" <orca.chen@gmail.com>,
	"Dan McGee" <dpmcgee@gmail.com>,
	"Yann Droneaud" <ydroneaud@opteya.com>,
	"Paul Burton" <paul.burton@imgtec.com>,
	"Alex Smith" <alex@alex-smith.me.uk>,
	"Markos Chandras" <markos.chandras@imgtec.com>,
	"Vineeth Vijayan" <vvijayan@mvista.com>,
	"Jeff Bailey" <jeffbailey@google.com>,
	"Michael Holzheu" <holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Ben Hutchings" <ben@decadent.org.uk>,
	"Behan Webster" <behanw@converseincode.com>,
	"Jan-Simon Möller" <dl9pf@gmx.de>,
	"linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org"
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Linux MIPS Mailing List" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	"linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR
Date: Mon, 9 Mar 2015 11:06:00 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAGXu5jK=bEQDao+QZN7AZuVi0FB_+AsT4LAPodVZg3VTK=Pi-A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20150309161912.GW8656@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk>

On Mon, Mar 9, 2015 at 9:19 AM, Russell King - ARM Linux
<linux@arm.linux.org.uk> wrote:
> On Tue, Mar 03, 2015 at 06:10:15PM -0800, Kees Cook wrote:
>> To address the "offset2lib" ASLR weakness[1], this separates ET_DYN
>> ASLR from mmap ASLR, as already done on s390. The architectures
>> that are already randomizing mmap (arm, arm64, mips, powerpc, s390,
>> and x86), have their various forms of arch_mmap_rnd() made available
>> via the new CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ELF_RANDOMIZE. For these architectures,
>> arch_randomize_brk() is collapsed as well.
>>
>> This is an alternative to the solutions in:
>> https://lkml.org/lkml/2015/2/23/442
>>
>> I've been able to test x86 and arm, and the buildbot (so far) seems
>> happy with building the rest.
>
> Hmm, do you want to wrap my acks up to your previous one into this set?
> What about my tested-by?
>
> I'd rather not waste time testing this version if my previous test is
> still valid (or if there's yet another version of this patch set which
> is later than this set.)
>
> Unless I hear anything, I'll assume that it's broadly the same as the
> previous patch set and requires no action.

Yeah, it's broadly the same. I tweaked a few minor things, so I'm
comfortable retaining the acks and tested-bys. Thank you for the
reviews and tests!

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Chrome OS Security

      reply	other threads:[~2015-03-09 18:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2015-03-04  2:10 Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 01/10] arm: factor out mmap ASLR into mmap_rnd Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 02/10] x86: standardize mmap_rnd() usage Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 03/10] arm64: " Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 04/10] mips: extract logic for mmap_rnd() Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 05/10] powerpc: standardize mmap_rnd() usage Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 06/10] s390: " Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 07/10] mm: expose arch_mmap_rnd when available Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 08/10] s390: redefine randomize_et_dyn for ELF_ET_DYN_BASE Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 09/10] mm: split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR Kees Cook
2015-03-04  2:10 ` [PATCH v3 10/10] mm: fold arch_randomize_brk into ARCH_HAS_ELF_RANDOMIZE Kees Cook
2015-03-09 16:19 ` [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR Russell King - ARM Linux
2015-03-09 18:06   ` Kees Cook [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAGXu5jK=bEQDao+QZN7AZuVi0FB_+AsT4LAPodVZg3VTK=Pi-A@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=a.ryabinin@samsung.com \
    --cc=achandran@mvista.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex@alex-smith.me.uk \
    --cc=behanw@converseincode.com \
    --cc=ben@decadent.org.uk \
    --cc=benh@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dave.long@linaro.org \
    --cc=dl9pf@gmx.de \
    --cc=dpmcgee@gmail.com \
    --cc=hecmargi@upv.es \
    --cc=heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=holzheu@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=iripoll@upv.es \
    --cc=jeffbailey@google.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux390@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux@arm.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=markos.chandras@imgtec.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=orca.chen@gmail.com \
    --cc=paul.burton@imgtec.com \
    --cc=paulus@samba.org \
    --cc=ralf@linux-mips.org \
    --cc=schwidefsky@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=vvijayan@mvista.com \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ydroneaud@opteya.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v3 0/10] split ET_DYN ASLR from mmap ASLR' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).