LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: "David Hildenbrand" <david@redhat.com>,
	"Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Borislav Petkov" <bp@alien8.de>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	"Alexander Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Alexey Dobriyan" <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo" <acme@kernel.org>,
	"Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Alexander Shishkin" <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	"Jiri Olsa" <jolsa@redhat.com>,
	"Namhyung Kim" <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	"Petr Mladek" <pmladek@suse.com>,
	"Sergey Senozhatsky" <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>,
	"Andy Shevchenko" <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rasmus Villemoes" <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	"Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	"Greg Ungerer" <gerg@linux-m68k.org>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	"Vlastimil Babka" <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	"Vincenzo Frascino" <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	"Chinwen Chang" <chinwen.chang@mediatek.com>,
	"Catalin Marinas" <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	"Huang Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>,
	"Jann Horn" <jannh@google.com>, "Feng Tang" <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	"Kevin Brodsky" <Kevin.Brodsky@arm.com>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Shawn Anastasio" <shawn@anastas.io>,
	"Steven Price" <steven.price@arm.com>,
	"Nicholas Piggin" <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	"Christian Brauner" <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	"Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	"Gabriel Krisman Bertazi" <krisman@collabora.com>,
	"Peter Xu" <peterx@redhat.com>,
	"Suren Baghdasaryan" <surenb@google.com>,
	"Shakeel Butt" <shakeelb@google.com>,
	"Marco Elver" <elver@google.com>,
	"Daniel Jordan" <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	"Nicolas Viennot" <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>,
	"Thomas Cedeno" <thomascedeno@google.com>,
	"Michal Hocko" <mhocko@suse.com>,
	"Miklos Szeredi" <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	"Chengguang Xu" <cgxu519@mykernel.net>,
	"Christian König" <ckoenig.leichtzumerken@gmail.com>,
	"Florian Weimer" <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	"David Laight" <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	linux-unionfs@vger.kernel.org,
	"Linux API" <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	"the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@kernel.org>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/7] binfmt: don't use MAP_DENYWRITE when loading shared libraries via uselib()
Date: Sun, 5 Sep 2021 10:17:26 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=whO-dnNxz5H8yfnGsNxrDHu-TVQq-X-VwhoDyWu3Lgnyg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210905153229.GA3019909@roeck-us.net>

On Sun, Sep 5, 2021 at 8:32 AM Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net> wrote:
>
> Guess someone didn't care compile testing their code. This is now in
> mainline.

To be fair, a.out is disabled pretty much on all relevant platforms these days.

Only alpha and m68k left, I think.

I applied the obvious patch from Geert.

            Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-05 17:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-16 19:48 [PATCH v2 0/7] Remove in-tree usage of MAP_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 1/7] binfmt: don't use MAP_DENYWRITE when loading shared libraries via uselib() David Hildenbrand
2021-09-05 15:32   ` Guenter Roeck
2021-09-05 17:17     ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2021-09-05 19:07       ` David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 2/7] kernel/fork: factor out replacing the current MM exe_file David Hildenbrand
2021-08-19 20:51   ` Linus Torvalds
2021-08-20  8:46     ` David Hildenbrand
2021-08-20 14:36       ` Eric W. Biederman
2021-08-22 17:58         ` Linus Torvalds
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 3/7] kernel/fork: always deny write access to " David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 4/7] binfmt: remove in-tree usage of MAP_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 5/7] mm: remove VM_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 6/7] mm: ignore MAP_DENYWRITE in ksys_mmap_pgoff() David Hildenbrand
2021-08-16 19:48 ` [PATCH v2 7/7] fs: update documentation of get_write_access() and friends David Hildenbrand
2021-08-17 11:01 ` [PATCH v2 0/7] Remove in-tree usage of MAP_DENYWRITE Christian König
2021-09-03  9:45 ` David Hildenbrand
2021-09-03 16:26   ` Linus Torvalds

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=whO-dnNxz5H8yfnGsNxrDHu-TVQq-X-VwhoDyWu3Lgnyg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=Kevin.Brodsky@arm.com \
    --cc=Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=cgxu519@mykernel.net \
    --cc=chinwen.chang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=ckoenig.leichtzumerken@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gerg@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krisman@collabora.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-unionfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=shawn@anastas.io \
    --cc=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomascedeno@google.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ying.huang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 1/7] binfmt: don'\''t use MAP_DENYWRITE when loading shared libraries via uselib()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).