LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org>
To: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Architecture Mailman List <boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Miles Chen <miles.chen@mediatek.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()
Date: Wed, 15 May 2019 18:34:06 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAJMQK-hGyuM=+C0ZPUbUwMqH8zPoYPF43L8oMP=p8MUeXrco4g@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190515050059.GA4081@rapoport-lnx>

On Wed, May 15, 2019 at 1:01 PM Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> wrote:
> >
> > Why not just have fixmap_remap_fdt() that maps it as RW and reserves
> > memblock once, and then call __fixmap_remap_fdt() with RO after
> > early_init_dt_scan() or unflatten_device_tree() is called? Why the
> > desire to call memblock_reserve() twice or even three times?
>
> There's no desire to call memblock_reserve() twice. It's just that leaving
> the call for it in kaslr rather than in setup_arch() may end up with
> unreserved FDT because kaslr was disabled or even compiled out.
>
> I've suggested to use fixmap_remap_fdt() everywhere because IMHO this
> improves readability and allows to un-export __fixmap_remap_fdt().
>
> --
> Sincerely yours,
> Mike.
>

How about adding an arch hook that's not limited to be called at init
(like fixmap_remap_fdt). In this way we don't have to change currently
arm64 setup structure and only map fdt to RW before we need to modify
it (and can map back to RO after write). Since it can be called after
init, for CONFIG_KEXEC, we can also use it before updating fdt with a
new seed.

Does nothing by default, and for arm64 it can be like[1].
It's similar to __fixmap_remap_fdt on counting fdt size but using
update_mapping_prot() (will flush the TLBs).
And suppose fixmap_remap_fdt() is called at least once, region
checking is skipped.

diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
index 8080c9f489c3..e0fff8a009da 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
@@ -32,6 +32,7 @@
 #include <linux/io.h>
 #include <linux/mm.h>
 #include <linux/vmalloc.h>
+#include <linux/of_fdt.h>

 #include <asm/barrier.h>
 #include <asm/cputype.h>
@@ -919,6 +920,22 @@ void *__init fixmap_remap_fdt(phys_addr_t dt_phys)
        return dt_virt;
 }

+extern phys_addr_t fdt_pointer;
+
+/* Should be called after fixmap_remap_fdt() is called. */
+void update_fdt_pgprot(pgprot_t prot)
+{
+       u64 dt_virt_base = __fix_to_virt(FIX_FDT);
+       int offset, size;
+
+       offset = fdt_pointer % SWAPPER_BLOCK_SIZE;
+       size = fdt_totalsize((void *)dt_virt_base + offset);
+
+       update_mapping_prot(round_down(fdt_pointer, SWAPPER_BLOCK_SIZE),
+                       dt_virt_base,
+                       round_up(offset + size, SWAPPER_BLOCK_SIZE), prot);
+}
+


example use:
update_fdt_pgprot(PAGE_KERNEL);
fdt_delprop(initial_boot_params, node, "rng-seed");
update_fdt_pgprot(PAGE_KERNEL_RO);

I tested on arm64 device and it works. But if this doesn't seems
right, I'll probably just don't don't map fdt back to RO if kexec is
set.

Is this reasonable?

Thanks!

  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-15 10:34 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 14+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-13  0:38 [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  0:38 ` [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan() Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-13  8:58   ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 11:14     ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-14 15:42       ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-15 10:24         ` Hsin-Yi Wang
2019-05-15 20:11           ` Ard Biesheuvel
2019-05-16 11:07             ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-14 21:05       ` Stephen Boyd
2019-05-15  5:00         ` Mike Rapoport
2019-05-15 10:34           ` Hsin-Yi Wang [this message]
2019-05-13  8:42 ` [PATCH v2 1/2] fdt: add support for rng-seed Mike Rapoport
2019-05-13 13:14 ` Rob Herring
2019-05-15  9:07   ` Hsin-Yi Wang

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAJMQK-hGyuM=+C0ZPUbUwMqH8zPoYPF43L8oMP=p8MUeXrco4g@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=hsinyi@chromium.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrew.murray@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=boot-architecture@lists.linaro.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=miles.chen@mediatek.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] amr64: map FDT as RW for early_init_dt_scan()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).