LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>
Cc: "xuwei (O)" <xuwei5@huawei.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	Simon Horman <horms+renesas@verge.net.au>,
	gregkh <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Sebastien Bourdelin <sebastien.bourdelin@savoirfairelinux.com>,
	bogdan.purcareata@nxp.com, Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linuxarm <linuxarm@huawei.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas@kernel.org>,
	Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>,
	tanxiaojun@huawei.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] HISI LPC: Add Kconfig MFD_CORE dependency
Date: Thu, 26 Apr 2018 16:53:58 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a1HJXPVKDLUi14jdpXfZ+ZsJTJh6fUJt5RdsMxnBLob0Q@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1524147242-220936-1-git-send-email-john.garry@huawei.com>

On Thu, Apr 19, 2018 at 4:14 PM, John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com> wrote:
> For ACPI support of the HiSilicon LPC driver we depend
> on MFD_CORE config.
>
> Currently the HiSi LPC Kconfig entry does not define this
> dependency, so add it.
>
> The reason for depending on MFD_CORE in the driver is
> that we model the LPC host as an MFD, in that a platform
> device will be created for each device on the bus.
>
> We do this as we need to modify the resources of these
> derived platform devices, something which we should not
> do to the original devices created in the ACPI scan.
> Details in e0aa1563f894 ("HISI LPC: Add ACPI support").
>
> Fixes: e0aa1563f894 ("HISI LPC: Add ACPI support")
> Reported-and-tested-by: Tan Xiaojun <tanxiaojun@huawei.com>
> Signed-off-by: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>

Applied to fixes.

      Arnd

      reply	other threads:[~2018-04-26 14:53 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-04-19 14:14 John Garry
2018-04-26 14:53 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a1HJXPVKDLUi14jdpXfZ+ZsJTJh6fUJt5RdsMxnBLob0Q@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bogdan.purcareata@nxp.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=helgaas@kernel.org \
    --cc=horms+renesas@verge.net.au \
    --cc=john.garry@huawei.com \
    --cc=khilman@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxarm@huawei.com \
    --cc=olof@lixom.net \
    --cc=paul.gortmaker@windriver.com \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=sebastien.bourdelin@savoirfairelinux.com \
    --cc=tanxiaojun@huawei.com \
    --cc=tony@atomide.com \
    --cc=xuwei5@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v2] HISI LPC: Add Kconfig MFD_CORE dependency' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).