LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux FS-devel Mailing List <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Todd Kjos <tkjos@android.com>,
	"Dmitry V. Levin" <ldv@altlinux.org>,
	Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>,
	alpha <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-m68k <linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org>,
	linux-mips@vger.kernel.org,
	Parisc List <linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>,
	linux-s390 <linux-s390@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux-sh list <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>,
	sparclinux <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
	<linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org>,
	"the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 1/2] open: add close_range()
Date: Fri, 24 May 2019 09:43:53 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a26uvqmExJZsezhB+cp2ADM0Ai9jVUKWOFM6kg848bCKg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190523163345.q5ynd2ytk7nxcvqf@brauner.io>

On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 6:33 PM Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io> wrote:
> On Thu, May 23, 2019 at 07:22:17PM +0300, Konstantin Khlebnikov wrote:
> > On 22.05.2019 18:52, Christian Brauner wrote:> This adds the close_range() syscall. It allows to efficiently close a range
> > >   22 files changed, 100 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)
> > >
> >
> > It would be better to split arch/ wiring into separate patch for better readability.
>
> Ok. You mean only do x86 - seems to be the standard - and then move the
> others into a separate patch? Doesn't seem worth to have a patch
> per-arch, I'd think.

I think I would prefer the first patch to just add the call without wiring it up
anywhere, and a second patch do add it on all architectures including x86.

     Arnd

  reply	other threads:[~2019-05-24  7:44 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-05-22 15:52 Christian Brauner
2019-05-22 15:52 ` [PATCH v1 2/2] tests: add close_range() tests Christian Brauner
2019-05-22 16:57 ` [PATCH v1 1/2] open: add close_range() Oleg Nesterov
2019-05-23 11:51   ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-23 14:14     ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-23 14:28       ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-23 16:21         ` Oleg Nesterov
2019-05-23 14:32     ` Jann Horn
2019-05-23 14:37       ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-23 16:22 ` Konstantin Khlebnikov
2019-05-23 16:29   ` David Laight
2019-05-23 16:33   ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-24  7:43     ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2019-05-24  9:57       ` Christian Brauner
2019-05-24 10:31   ` Christian Brauner

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a26uvqmExJZsezhB+cp2ADM0Ai9jVUKWOFM6kg848bCKg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=christian@brauner.io \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru \
    --cc=ldv@altlinux.org \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mips@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=miklos@szeredi.hu \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=sparclinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tkjos@android.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v1 1/2] open: add close_range()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).