LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>, Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Tanmay Shah <tanmay@codeaurora.org>,
	Abhinav Kumar <abhinavk@codeaurora.org>,
	Chandan Uddaraju <chandanu@codeaurora.org>,
	Georgi Djakov <georgi.djakov@linaro.org>,
	Dmitry Baryshkov <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>,
	Jonathan Marek <jonathan@marek.ca>,
	Jordan Crouse <jordan@cosmicpenguin.net>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Sai Prakash Ranjan <saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	dri-devel <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	freedreno <freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] drm/msm/gpu: fix link failure with QCOM_SCM=m
Date: Wed, 4 Aug 2021 09:43:30 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a2R4EVY9=K3UB2+z7mssNCrSf3BrGW95BwR+qw1SLOm-w@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210802145321.1153989-1-arnd@kernel.org>

On Mon, Aug 2, 2021 at 4:53 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
>
> Another missed dependency when SCM is a loadable module
> and adreno is built-in:
>
> drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/adreno_gpu.o: In function `adreno_zap_shader_load':
> adreno_gpu.c:(.text+0x1e8): undefined reference to `qcom_scm_is_available'
> drivers/gpu/drm/msm/adreno/a5xx_gpu.o: In function `a5xx_hw_init':
> a5xx_gpu.c:(.text+0x28a6): undefined reference to `qcom_scm_set_remote_state'
>
> Change it so the dependency on QCOM_SCM and QCOM_MDT_LOADER can be
> ignored if we are not building for ARCH_QCOM, but prevent the
> link error during compile testing when SCM is a loadable module
> and ARCH_QCOM is disabled.
>
> Fixes: a9e2559c931d ("drm/msm/gpu: Move zap shader loading to adreno")
> Fixes: 5ea4dba68305 ("drm/msm/a6xx: add CONFIG_QCOM_LLCC dependency")
> Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

Oh, this is still wrong, for two reasons:

> ---
>  drivers/gpu/drm/msm/Kconfig | 4 ++--
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/Kconfig b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/Kconfig
> index 52536e7adb95..69fbfe4568b2 100644
> --- a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/Kconfig
> +++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/Kconfig
> @@ -9,14 +9,14 @@ config DRM_MSM
>         depends on QCOM_OCMEM || QCOM_OCMEM=n
>         depends on QCOM_LLCC || QCOM_LLCC=n
>         depends on QCOM_COMMAND_DB || QCOM_COMMAND_DB=n
> +       depends on QCOM_SCM || (QCOM_SCM=n && ARCH_QCOM=n)
> +       depends on QCOM_MDT_LOADER || ARCH_QCOM=n

* Only QCOM_SCM has become user-selectable, but QCOM_MDT_LOADER
   is still meant to only be selected by its users, so we cannot depend on it
   here

* There are two other drivers that have the broken 'select QCOM_SCM if
   ARCH_QCOM', we have to fix them all at once.

         Arnd

      reply	other threads:[~2021-08-04  7:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 2+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-02 14:53 Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-04  7:43 ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAK8P3a2R4EVY9=K3UB2+z7mssNCrSf3BrGW95BwR+qw1SLOm-w@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=abhinavk@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=chandanu@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=georgi.djakov@linaro.org \
    --cc=john.stultz@linaro.org \
    --cc=jonathan@marek.ca \
    --cc=jordan@cosmicpenguin.net \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=robdclark@gmail.com \
    --cc=saiprakash.ranjan@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=sean@poorly.run \
    --cc=tanmay@codeaurora.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] drm/msm/gpu: fix link failure with QCOM_SCM=m' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).