LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
To: Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Shannon Nelson <snelson@pensando.io>,
	Jacob Keller <jacob.e.keller@intel.com>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>,
	Vivien Didelot <vivien.didelot@gmail.com>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Claudiu Manoil <claudiu.manoil@nxp.com>,
	Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	Microchip Linux Driver Support <UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com>,
	Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>,
	Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>,
	Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	Salil Mehta <salil.mehta@huawei.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Tony Nguyen <anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com>,
	Tariq Toukan <tariqt@nvidia.com>,
	Saeed Mahameed <saeedm@nvidia.com>,
	Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org>, Jiri Pirko <jiri@nvidia.com>,
	Ido Schimmel <idosch@nvidia.com>,
	drivers@pensando.io, Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com>,
	Edward Cree <ecree.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Martin Habets <habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com>,
	Giuseppe Cavallaro <peppe.cavallaro@st.com>,
	Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com>,
	Jose Abreu <joabreu@synopsys.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Yangbo Lu <yangbo.lu@nxp.com>, Karen Xie <kxie@chelsio.com>,
	Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-rdma <linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-scsi <linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH net-next v4] ethernet: fix PTP_1588_CLOCK dependencies
Date: Thu, 5 Aug 2021 16:10:17 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a2xrkSky0B0YZjBuooJy4QpQS2cCDb_ipYSgY78GzeEKw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210805133258.zvhn5kznjt7taqyu@skbuf>

On Thu, Aug 5, 2021 at 3:32 PM Vladimir Oltean <olteanv@gmail.com> wrote:
> >
> >  # Users should depend on NET_SWITCHDEV, HAS_IOMEM, BRIDGE
> >  config MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB
> > +     depends on PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL
>
> No, don't make the MSCC_OCELOT_SWITCH_LIB depend on anything please,
> since it is always "select"-ed, it shouldn't have dependencies, see
> the comment above. If you want, add this to the comment: "Users should
> depend on (...), PTP_1588_CLOCK_OPTIONAL".
>

Changed now, but I only saw your message after I had already sent out v5 of
the patch. I'll hold off on sending v6 for the moment, in case someone else
notices something odd.

I generally prefer having the extra dependencies like this, because it documents
what the requirement is, and causes a config-time warning before the kernel
runs into a link failure when someone else gets the dependency wrong later.
I don't feel too strongly about it though, and I don't expect adding a comment
would help much either here, so I'm leaving it without that line.

       Arnd

      reply	other threads:[~2021-08-05 14:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-08-05  8:13 Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-05 12:52 ` Julian Calaby
2021-08-05 13:15   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-08-05 13:32 ` Vladimir Oltean
2021-08-05 14:10   ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a2xrkSky0B0YZjBuooJy4QpQS2cCDb_ipYSgY78GzeEKw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=UNGLinuxDriver@microchip.com \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=alexandre.torgue@foss.st.com \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=anthony.l.nguyen@intel.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=claudiu.beznea@microchip.com \
    --cc=claudiu.manoil@nxp.com \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=drivers@pensando.io \
    --cc=ecree.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=habetsm.xilinx@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=idosch@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jacob.e.keller@intel.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=jiri@nvidia.com \
    --cc=joabreu@synopsys.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kxie@chelsio.com \
    --cc=leon@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nicolas.ferre@microchip.com \
    --cc=olteanv@gmail.com \
    --cc=peppe.cavallaro@st.com \
    --cc=richardcochran@gmail.com \
    --cc=saeedm@nvidia.com \
    --cc=salil.mehta@huawei.com \
    --cc=sergei.shtylyov@gmail.com \
    --cc=snelson@pensando.io \
    --cc=tariqt@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vivien.didelot@gmail.com \
    --cc=yangbo.lu@nxp.com \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH net-next v4] ethernet: fix PTP_1588_CLOCK dependencies' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).