LKML Archive on lore.kernel.org
help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Martin Guy <martinwguy@gmail.com>
To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Hartley Sweeten <hsweeten@visionengravers.com>,
	Alexander Sverdlin <alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com>,
	soc@kernel.org, Nikita Shubin <nikita.shubin@maquefel.me>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	Hubert Feurstein <hubert.feurstein@contec.at>,
	Lukasz Majewski <lukma@denx.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>,
	Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support
Date: Tue, 3 Aug 2021 13:40:58 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAL4-wQpKLtSj0xfNUXXLhbtN1wC051jpRneAuLYOi1riZfiinw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAL4-wQqCL1S-GYu7VKJeTT37wh=rR=SMUuwgKiXnnn_Y=uydOA@mail.gmail.com>

I forward opinion from people currently producing and supporting EP93XX boards:

From: Technologic Systems Support Team <support@embeddedarm.com>
To: martinwguy@gmail.com
Cc: jerome.oufella@savoirfairelinux.com

> I expect our customers would care if support was dropped.
> Unfortunately I don't know to what extent.  I'd like to bring
> Jerome Oufella of Savoir Faire Linux into the conversation here,
> as he runs the software company who most of our customers
> contract through when they need a modern Linux kernel running
> on one of our Cirrus Logic EP93XX series single board computers.
> I expect his opinion will be more valuable than mine.
​>
> Good morning Jerome,
>
> A member of the Linux Kernel Development community reached out
> to us this morning letting us know the community has suggested
> dropping support for the MavericCrunch FPU on the EP9302 processor.
> Would this impact any of the development your team has been doing
> for some of our mutual customers?

From: Jerome Oufella<jerome.oufella@savoirfairelinux.com>
> I am aware of a few companies who rely on variants of the TS-7250
> running not-too-old LTS releases (4.19, 5.4) to cope with their patch policies.
>
> With Linux 5.10 being the next "Super LTS", this presumably brings its
> support lifespan until about 2030, which (I believe) they would be
> comfortable with considering the age of the platform.
>
> Jerome Oufella
> Vice-President, Technologies
> www.savoirfairelinux.com

  reply	other threads:[~2021-08-03 11:41 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210802141245.1146772-1-arnd@kernel.org>
2021-08-02 15:45 ` Martin Guy
2021-08-03 11:40   ` Martin Guy [this message]
     [not found]     ` <CAK8P3a2z_xxpz9hAYoBx5=bS81V=TkjEU6WHNhPi1UhQ3UScfw@mail.gmail.com>
2021-08-03 15:52       ` Jerome Oufella
2021-08-03 12:12   ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAL4-wQpKLtSj0xfNUXXLhbtN1wC051jpRneAuLYOi1riZfiinw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=martinwguy@gmail.com \
    --cc=alexander.sverdlin@gmail.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=arnd@kernel.org \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=hsweeten@visionengravers.com \
    --cc=hubert.feurstein@contec.at \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=lukma@denx.de \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=nikita.shubin@maquefel.me \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=soc@kernel.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] ARM: ep93xx: remove MaverickCrunch support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).